Froyo Wireless Issue

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by Riffin, Aug 13, 2010.

  1. Riffin

    Riffin New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone else having trouble with maintaining a wireless connection with Froyo? Since the update, I can't hold a wifi connection. Wifi is solid on the other devices in my house - just not my Droid?
     
  2. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,959
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    No problem here. I'm on my Wifi right now and have been most of the day.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  3. firejuan

    firejuan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +0
    I share your pain. My wifi was great with 2.1, but after the update it will no longer connect to my home network even when I am sitting on top of the router.
     
  4. M.Opaliski

    M.Opaliski Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Greenwood, Delaware
    Ratings:
    +0
    No issues to speak of with connectivity on Day 1 of update, been on Wifi most of the day with no problems at all, ran out for a few minutes earlier to grab smokes and had no issues using 3G to either.
     
  5. KnighthawkLS1

    KnighthawkLS1 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    East Coast
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you have security enabled on your router? If so, delete your router info from your phone and recreate the "profile" see if that helps.
     
  6. firejuan

    firejuan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried removing network from phone then added it back but wifi is still not working.
     
  7. Riffin

    Riffin New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Still having problems with wireless. Connection cycles on an off. Tried just about everything - next stop the Verizon store to see if it's a hardware issue. Looking forward to that. Thanks for feedback.
     
  8. acles003

    acles003 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Danbury, CT
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have had the same wifi issue since 2.2. My phone also gets really hot (reached 109 degrees today) and my battery life went from 14hrs to 4 or 5 hours in a day. Verizon told me to do a factory reset or bring to a store to reinstall 2.2.
     
  9. Arkainzeye

    Arkainzeye Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    No issues at all.
     
  10. Riffin

    Riffin New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just tried a factory reset. No luck. After reset, while my apps were downloading, wireless flicked in and out and downloads were frequently paused and restarted. Very painful to watch.
     
  11. Riffin

    Riffin New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Last update:

    Spoke with Verizon tech support. They directed me to "jump start" the phone by calling a phone number that enabled a "programming menu" screen. I was told to select AKey and enter a 27 digit #. Then to selct Authentication and confirm the CDMA setting. While this gave me something to do, it did not fix the problem.

    Next call to tech support resulted in a new phone to be sent out. The tech wasn't sure if it would have 2.1 or 2.2 on it. (At this point, without wireless working and no Flash yet, I'd prefer 2.1)

    The tech guys seemed a little exhausted with Froyo problems and acknowledged that the wireless issue was a known though infrequent issue with the update. New phone to arrive on Monday.
     
  12. chemprofjoe

    chemprofjoe New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    wifi as well

    I had the same issue and Verizon dispatched a replacement phone. The fact they did so without much hassle suggests they are having a significant number of problems. New phone arrived with 2.1. I did update to 2.2 over the air. Now, with Froyo, wireless works just fine. Several colleagues upgraded to 2.2 with no problem with wifi. So, it isn't simply 2.2 but some combination of hardware with 2.2.