Froyo Release Thread

Discussion in 'Android News' started by mth04, Jun 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. thunter
    Offline

    thunter New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Brea, Ca.
    Wiping cache and data will not un-root you. Once your rooted, your rooted. You should do this very time you install a new ROM. Then just restore apps. and data with your backups. I would also copy your SDCARD to your computer just to be extra safe.
  2. movadoevo8
    Offline

    movadoevo8 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is anyone running 2.2 STABLED? Seems so slow for me! It's horrible at the moment way way slower then stock. Instead of it being 5x quicker then stock it feels 5x slower hehe. Anyone having it run good and smooth and if so what did you do ?
  3. Jizzylax
    Offline

    Jizzylax New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Based on stability issues people are having and no Wifi, I will be holding off on installing this.
  4. scubasteve101
    Offline

    scubasteve101 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The Market is a tad different. There is now an 'About' tab with everything we usually had but now all the comments are on their own 'Comments' tab
  5. brownpm85
    Offline

    brownpm85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    haha flashed another kernal. The phone booted but it said my battery was dead, no signal, no data, and the phone rebooted in about 30 secs.
  6. movadoevo8
    Offline

    movadoevo8 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Thanks for the 411.
  7. thorn11166
    Offline

    thorn11166 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arkansas
    can everyone stop complaining... remember this is pretty much alpha or beta, probably even just consider it an X release... its not going to be perfect so don't expect it to be perfect, let them work their witchcraft on it so it can become better, eventually it will be better. so stop the complaining.
  8. lennyjaxn
    Offline

    lennyjaxn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm using the .zip from the OP that is now removed. It's pretty effin' fast (haven't OCed yet) but there seems to be no 3G connection, which makes things like Market updates and phone calls a little tricky. Wifi works sporadically though! perhaps this is part of why that link is no longer on the OP.
  9. djg08642
    Offline

    djg08642 New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not rooted anymore either... How did that happen?
  10. Porterhouse0
    Offline

    Porterhouse0 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^^^

    it'll be 10x faster if we give it a week or two. let the devs work with it. get a final release situated.
  11. the3dolla
    Offline

    the3dolla New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    hmm

    It does seem slower to me as well, wiped data and cfache..
    Btw, I didn't have to download any apps they just auto downloaded and restored themselves. When I go to download flash though it just gives me an error, anyone else try? Also I lost my imobsters! I thought that was tied to your google account?
  12. bamfsig45
    Offline

    bamfsig45 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ICT
    I may try it out but Ill go back to my Cyanogen Mod as it works flawlessly. Then When the Devs start making Froyo roms Ill stick to it.
  13. Hogmeister
    Offline

    Hogmeister New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah, i was told i installed wrong.. but i got the same results, the OS itself is quite fast with that release, but no 3g and the wifi is sporadic at best, works for a bit then shuts off and so on.

    going to try the nandroid now tho
  14. tampaboy1984
    Offline

    tampaboy1984 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What was the first zip file that was posted for? I downloaded it and I'm going to try and install with zip option....anyone tried that file yet? its no longer in the first post but you can still download it from the second post.
  15. djg08642
    Offline

    djg08642 New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Flash is a no-go. The download site brings up the Market and then flashes an error. Flash sites say "You don't haz flash"
  16. mth04
    Offline

    mth04 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,928
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I removed the link to the update zip... there was a bit too much info there.....sorry use the new files and all have SU access....on the zip 3g was not working...on the new links 3g is working...no wifi...please this is a big release so try to be patient...also remeber P3 and MDW could have not released and left it to them selves and enjoyed froyo without a word to be said.....

    Su access is on my Droid som I will find out more now about that.
  17. tampaboy1984
    Offline

    tampaboy1984 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Probably going to go back to my BB 1.1 till this is better...thank god i backed up my BB 1.1 setup, I woulda been so &*$#^ if I wouldnt have before flashing the SLOW AS FROYO ROM....lol
  18. C5O
    Offline

    C5O New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Do you know when an official update.zip will be released?
  19. jase
    Offline

    jase New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks to all of you giving this a try. I need my phone for my job, so I can't play along. But I'm following every word, jealous as heck. Gotta live vicariously for now, I guess.
  20. chaosz3ro
    Offline

    chaosz3ro New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no wifi?

    how disappointing :( awesome of you guys to release this anyways.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Search tags for this page
1.0-v32kernel.zip is what now
,
about:debug enable light touch
,

enable light touch

,
enable light touch android
,
enable light touch motorola droid
,
fryno release
,
rootme 3 does root 4.1.2
,
scopilot apk dowmload
,
what does enable light touch do