FROYO low on Google search

dgibble

Reaction score
I am an Electrical Engineer who has been active in the personal computer market since the Commodore 64. Many "new" inventions have come and gone and these days I am very skeptical about the real features. I am trying to find out about the new FROYO which has just hit the number 1 position in the PCworld 100. Why am I not surprised that doing a google search for FROYO does not hit on any "google" response.

My iPaq h6315 PDA/phone has features that none of the new phones offer. I require not 64000 apps but only the following:

1. Must sync to Outlook 2003
2. Must run E-Sword. e-Sword - the Sword of the LORD with an electronic edge
3. Must be able to draw with a stylus on the screen to allow sketching and writing hebrew script from right to left.

How does FROYO stack up to this very short requirement list?

Dave12308

Silver Member
Reaction score
I am trying to find out about the new FROYO which has just hit the number 1 position in the PCworld 100. Why am I not surprised that doing a google search for FROYO does not hit on any "google" response.

???????

Froyo is the nickname for Android 2.2 - and at this point, it's far from new - it's been around for a few months at least. If I type "froyo" into Google, the entire first page of results is information about Android 2.2 - and most of the second page of results, as well.

As for a stylus, MOST Android devices use a capacitive multitouch screen, which isn't really all that compatible with styli. There are capacitive styli, but most capacitive screens don't have the precision that is needed for writing. There are a few Android devices with resistive screens (stylus compatible) but they tend to be low-end devices.

Something like this might work for you, though. It's Cortex A8-based; yet has a resistive screen:

http://mp4nation.net/catalog/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=68&products_id=430