Froyo Killed Droid Incredible's Camcorder

Discussion in 'Droid Incredible Tech Support' started by DroidZero, Sep 2, 2010.

  1. DroidZero
    Offline

    DroidZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Am I missing something here? I updated my Droid to Froyo earlier today and the camcorder doesnt work. I have tried switching from the camera, launching the app, and even switching to video mode while viewing recorded videos, but everytime it gets lauched it closes it self in about a second. And fyi the update went smoothly, and I dont have any apps other than the factory default ones. And yes the camcorder worked perfectly fine pre-Froyo.
  2. mikeyo1990
    Offline

    mikeyo1990 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you can try and go into your settings and then go to manage apps and then go to the tab that says all (indicating all apps that are on the phone). once there wait a second for all the apps to load and then find the app that says camera and press on that. Once there go to clear data and then exit to your home screen and then try it again. This is something that has worked for me when i have had that problem.
  3. DroidZero
    Offline

    DroidZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the reply, however the problem is still there. Cleared the data but the camcorder still closes itself.
  4. mikeyo1990
    Offline

    mikeyo1990 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have u tried just restarting the device?
  5. DroidZero
    Offline

    DroidZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes i did a reset, a couple of times infact
  6. DroidZero
    Offline

    DroidZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Am I the only one with this problem?
  7. av3c
    Offline

    av3c New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    broken camcorder

    No your not the only one. I have the same problem. My camcorder doesn't work at all but mine doesn't close it just slows down my phone incredibly and kills my full battery in about 15min. If I try to charge it my battery gets super hot because it is killing the batter as fast as its charging it. Can only restart the phone. Killing the app doesn't work. As long as I don't open the camcorder the phone is fine. Also did a factory reset and no fix. Verizon is sending me a new one but its labor day weekend so I guess ill have to wait even longer. as if I didn't wait long enough for this update!
  8. gmauser71
    Offline

    gmauser71 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    First Major Issue For Me

    Unfortunately I just had this same issue. The camcorder was just working the night before & then voila the very next evening it stopped. Mine would come up as if it was going to work & when you hit the button to record everything on the screen disappeared except the picture. I killed the app but it was still in the background doing something, which then affected my gmail sync. Man that puppy ran hot too!! AT the end of it all I had to do a factory wipe unfortunately, which solved the issue. I ended up spending $5 on mybackup Pro before the wipe & did a backup. which restored pretty much everything, but not perfectly though............. All in all I havent been very impressed with Froyo to this point......
  9. stacks04
    Offline

    stacks04 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine did this to me saturday. Its a moto droid though. I did a restart and it seemed to clear the problem up for now.
  10. gmauser71
    Offline

    gmauser71 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have an HTC Droid incredible, so I'm thinking its not a Motorola thing. Maybe froyo related? as it never did it on 2.1.
  11. HokieGeek
    Offline

    HokieGeek New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Has there been anything new about this? Wife and I got some new Incredibles a week ago and they won't record video. The app doesn't crash or anything. I open the camera and switch to video or I just click the camcorder shortcut, click the joystick and it focuses, goes green and clicks - just like the camera does - but the counter stays at 0 and nothing at all happens. Any way I can reinstall the stock app?
  12. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    It seems to be that the answer to this issue would be to visit your Verizon Store or call customer service. If the update broke your cam corder, then Verizon should fix it, after all it is their update.
  13. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    I would recommend that you call Verizon. Yours is a warranty issue. However, I would do a factory hard reset first. This is from a tutorial I read:

    Please note that all data will be deleted from the HTC DROID Incredible as a result of this procedure. This process does NOT delete data stored on the microSD card. We recommend backing up all of your personal data before proceeding.

    1. Turn the power off. If your HTC DROID Incredible is frozen, pull the battery out and reinsert it
    2. Hold the Volume Down button
    3. Hold the Power button until the display turns on
    4. You are now presented with a menu that allows for Fastbook, Recovery, Clear Storage, and Simlock
    5. Select Clear Storage by pressing the Volume Down button
    6. Press and release the Power button to select
    7. Now simply confirm your decision: Volume Up for YES and Volume Down for NO
    If you selected YES, all data including third-party applications will be deleted from the HTC DROID Incredible. Once the wipe is complete, the phone will reboot to its factory fresh state.
  14. HokieGeek
    Offline

    HokieGeek New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Doesn't Froyo come std with the incredible, or is Verizon updating them after they get them?

    I was hoping to avoid something like that just because one app isn't working, but the only video recording app I can find that works is Qik. The rest use the stock app so I'm SOL. So what's the best way to backup my phone to SD so that it restores quickly and completely?
  15. Dinc_User
    Offline

    Dinc_User New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i'm having similar issues, but i have a rooted phone with 2.1, and i've tried several roms with 2.2 not one of them works with the camcorder. in every single instance, including cyanogenmod 6.1.1, Ruby 1.1.1, Virtuous 2.7, etc. etc., any attempt to use the video recording option of the camera results in the app, and the phone, crashing. is anyone running 2.2 with a working video camera? is there some fix for this? right now, i'm just continuing to use 2.1, because the camera was one of the main reasons i got the phone.
  16. HokieGeek
    Offline

    HokieGeek New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I went ahead and did a factory reset which brought it back to the same state I bought the phone in. It's still froyo and the camcorder is still broken. Since I was blowing everything way, though, I took this opportunity and rooted the phone so that I can properly back everything up and not have to redo all of my screens if I end in a similar situation.

    So, any root-only solutions you guys can think of? Or, alternatively, any other video recorders other than qik you can suggest? Qik works, but I don't really want to stream everything I record, and I can't find any video recording apps that aren't just wrappers over the stock app.
  17. SubMatrix
    Offline

    SubMatrix New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think you still need to redo your screens after a factory reset even if you do a full backup?
  18. HokieGeek
    Offline

    HokieGeek New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Interesting. I would have assumed that Titanium would have backed up the config files used by the Sense home screen...
  19. fotc
    Offline

    fotc New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    im running froyo on skyraider 2.5.2 with sense and the camera and camcorder work fine. are you sure you are running either the 2.05.xx or 2.15.xx radio? if you are still on the 1.xx radio that is why the camera is not working
  20. HokieGeek
    Offline

    HokieGeek New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My baseband version is 2.15.00.07.28

    Maybe I need 2.15.00.07.29? :)
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2010
Search tags for this page

how to press record on camcorder incredible droid

,

htc droid incredible video camera doesnt work

,

my htc incredible won't record video