Froyo Camera on Droid 1

Discussion in 'Android Support' started by KidCuda, Aug 5, 2010.

  1. KidCuda

    KidCuda Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did some searching and couldn't find anything, so:

    Has anyone had any problems with the amount of time it takes to snap a picture in 2.2? For example, I would use auto-focus and it would take about 5 seconds to respond, and then when I press to take the picture, the screen will freeze for a few MORE seconds. It will then proceed to take a picture, meaning I'm waiting about 10 seconds (after starting the camera) to take one picture.

    I've run the other froyo ROMs before the official 2.2 one and thought it may have just been a bug, but it showed up for me again.
     
  2. dylanthecat

    dylanthecat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think the Froyo camera is better. From when I first run the app to first picture is about 3 seconds.
     
  3. glenn

    glenn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am very pleased with the camera updates in 2.2, particularly the low light option. IT WORKS NOW! The exposure setting is what fixed it.
    And the on screen option buttons are a lot easier to use.
     
  4. KidCuda

    KidCuda Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I it is snappier overall and I like the new layout, but I've run into a few moments where it takes even longer to normal to take a picture.
     
  5. Eschy

    Eschy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    its the phone not the software, it seems like they didnt spend much time on the camera function. The auto-focus just sucks and i think that is why takes so long to take pictures. Froyo helped a little IMO, doesnt bother me too much though. I dont take many pics
     
  6. thomasomali

    thomasomali New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    are you checking what mega pixle ur using, if its set to max which is five it take a couple seconds to proccess the picture but if its on a lower setting it doesnt take as long
     
  7. brochaos

    brochaos Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i've had some issues with froyo and the camera, and i've been able to confirm them on a friends phone as well. happens on sapphire, simply stunning, the frf84 leak, the frg01b leak, etc. basically, i take a picture, take note of how long it takes for the pic to go from the main screen to the little icon in the upper right, then press the top settings button, and try to scroll down in the settings. i can almost always get the camera to FC doing this. but the weird thing is, it comes and goes, can't always reproduce. but it always seems to pop up when i least need it to.
     
  8. dylanthecat

    dylanthecat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried this about 10 times and no problems. Running stock 2.2.
     
  9. KidCuda

    KidCuda Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Basically after I hit the camera button to take a pic, it will freeze. I know it has not taken a pic after it freezes because after I move phone after a few seconds, I end up seeing a picture of my foot instead the tree ahead of me for instance.

    So sometimes I'm stuck telling the subject of my picture to stand still for 20 seconds because my phone can't catch up normal use. But i guess I can use more patience. :)
     
  10. glenn

    glenn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree! The 2.2 update to the camera was a big surprise. The camera actually works now in low light situations.....not the best, but it works and it is after all a phone (not just any!) and not a camera.

    Very pleased now. And oh yeah, in good lighting, the cam has always taken GREAT pics!
     
  11. k9cachers

    k9cachers New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure I like the new camera settings - thought it was easier to access from menu. But- I'm trying to get used to it.

    Can anyone tell me what happened to the settings like sunset, beach, night, etc? Have they removed them? Those were a great feature on this phone.
     
  12. mountaineerndixie

    mountaineerndixie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Charleston, WV
    Ratings:
    +2
    My camera doesn't work now. I can take a picture but it is just a thin strip along the top that gets saved.

    EDIT: Got it....had to drop kick it across the room. Phone must be Jonesin' for football as much as I am.
     
Search tags for this page

droid 1 camera