Froyo browser killing...

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by dmac90, Jun 25, 2010.

  1. dmac90
    Offline

    dmac90 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In 2.1 when I would use a task manager to kill the browser, the next time I would open it it would just go to my homepage.

    In froyo if I kill the browser then open it back up, it just has the sane site I was visiting. Is there to make it reset upon kill?
  2. gixxerboy
    Offline

    gixxerboy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ive noticed that when you go home or something while usingthe browser then go back into the browser it refreshes the page so i dont think it is running when you kill it just when you open it back up it refreshes the last page yoju were on
  3. rage151
    Offline

    rage151 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Still doesn't seem like it's killing the browser. Is the page content holding onto some RAM? Wish it would kill the browser as it did before. Btw, I am using Taskiller.
  4. Anticitizen
    Offline

    Anticitizen New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think you are killing the browser, but the browser is saving its state before you do so. If the browser cache was cleared it would probably reset to your homepage...
  5. mbp
    Offline

    mbp New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That doesn't seem to do it either. This is a bit disappointing as I'm running into the same issue. Maybe there's a script out there that can take care of this....
  6. bknewtype
    Offline

    bknewtype New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yea its annoying. this is also true for the market place.
  7. aminaked
    Offline

    aminaked New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California, USA
    don't kill tasks...android has a built in task killer

    don't use antivirus...android has no known viruses
  8. junpar
    Offline

    junpar New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Task managers on the market cannot actually kill tasks in froyo I believe. Android 2.2 does not allow that as far as I know. Only the native task killer can do so.
  9. aminaked
    Offline

    aminaked New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California, USA
    Really? That's interesting.

    Anyway, I suggest to the OP to try other browsers like dolphin, dolphin hd, xscope, and opera mini.

    PS: Why are you killing the browser?
  10. radiojohnny
    Offline

    radiojohnny New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You kill the browser so your wife of girlfriend doesn't see ya watching porn ;)