Froyo 2.2 and Flash 10.1 on Nexus.

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by armeddroid, May 11, 2010.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. armeddroid
    Offline

    armeddroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Traffic Capital
    Ratings:
    +30
    Last edited: May 11, 2010
  2. Tanknspank
    Offline

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. armeddroid
    Offline

    armeddroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Traffic Capital
    Ratings:
    +30
    Yeah I caught that too. I was hoping they showed more of 2.2 but Flash was the highlight. It looked good but on a Nexus. Hmm

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  4. Tanknspank
    Offline

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    Flash ran VERY well. If the reason it took a while to finally get it out is they were just optimizing it to run as well as this, then I'm ok with it. :)
  5. armeddroid
    Offline

    armeddroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Traffic Capital
    Ratings:
    +30
    Yessir Flash, looked nice. Very glad he went to multiple sites and demo'd a few of the Flash features.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  6. HarshReality
    Offline

    HarshReality Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was noting the speed increase reported..
    Code:
    [B]Update:[/B] How much faster is a Nexus One running Froyo?  450 percent faster, according to the [I]Android Police[/I]. They claim  to have a device running the as-yet-unreleased firmware that can  perform over 37 million floating-point operations per second in the [URL="http://www.engadget.com/tag/Linpack/"]Linpack[/URL] benchmark...  compared to about 7 megaflops without. Oh yeeaaah. 
    
    While I and many others have been waiting for some time for the flash release and also looking forward to Froyo I find myself a bit concerned that all these speed increases and demos are now taking place on a nexus with its boasting 8G of memory and not of the Droid. I certainly hope the Droids can offer a suitable comparison where flash and speed is concerned (even if it takes an over clock to get it)
  7. Pauliewalnutted
    Offline

    Pauliewalnutted New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Couldn't agree more...


    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  8. SSHGuru
    Offline

    SSHGuru Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Ratings:
    +30
    Doesnt the Droid have 16G?
  9. HarshReality
    Offline

    HarshReality Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes and no.. by oem the sd is intended to be used as a storage medium not an actively used system resource. While some applications can create a seperate partition such as Apps2SD this is still only used as storage and not an active part of the system for 'computation'. Several ports for the senseui for example utilize a swap partition on the SD to simulate the additional resources of other phones but even then you take a hit for the speed the phone uses to read and write. These limits just can't be 'upgraded' away by getting a higher class sd card.

    In the end I am 99% certain the only way to get the most of froyo will have to be a custom rom.
  10. Addie
    Offline

    Addie New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes. Use firefox and get adblock or adblock plus and then get the filterset.g updater. Once you've installed firefox go to Tools->Add-ons and select Get Extensions (at the bottom).
  11. iPirate
    Offline

    iPirate Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    8G of what memory? My Droid has 16G of memory.

    Nexus user base is tiny, the only group I see pushing the N1 is Google and I can't say they are doing a great job.

    Flash also is working on the Droid...

    Last edited: May 12, 2010
  12. tcrews
    Offline

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +22
    I think some are getting the Incredible mixed up with the Nexus One.

    Nexus One specs:
    Capacity

    512 MB Flash
    512 MB RAM
    4 GB Micro SD Card (Expandable to 32 GB)