FRG83G question

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by MattyM, Aug 15, 2011.

  1. MattyM

    MattyM New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am new to the forums and I am sorry if this has already been posted. My question is How can I make Bugless FRG83G 1ghz? I know I need to add something, but I'm not sure what. I am very, very new to Bugless Beast, lol!!

    Thank you for any help,
    MattyM
     
  2. simon_lefisch

    simon_lefisch Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think you're gonna want flash a custom kernel. There should be some kernels available in the D1 forums.

    I know pete has some kernels he's made for his builds. I'm using ChevyNo1 on my gf droid. Try different ones and see what works good for you.

    Here's a link to Pete's kernels

    http://www.peteralfonso.com/2011/06/download-droid-kernels-v03.html?m=1

    Here's Chevy's kernels

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/showthread.php?t=150712

    CM74D2
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2011
  3. MattyM

    MattyM New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you!! I am using ROM manager. How do I install Pete's kernel? "Install rom from SD"? I'm a bit confused, lol!!
     
  4. simon_lefisch

    simon_lefisch Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +0
    dl kernel zip and place on sd card. reboot into CWR via rom manager by selecting "reboot into recovery". select install zip from sd. find kerenel zip file and flash.
     
  5. MattyM

    MattyM New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you again for helping me with this man. I got it all fixed up now. What is the highest speed people have ran or are running their Droids at? I actually have a Milestone, but I hear they are the same.
     
  6. simon_lefisch

    simon_lefisch Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +0
    idk. its pretty much trial and error. flash/run a few different ones and see what works best :D
     
  7. Urugami

    Urugami Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    MattyM, My Droid is stable with a 1200 MHz LV Kernel. Lots of others have been, too.
     
  8. MattyM

    MattyM New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I might try Urugami. I am having a bit of a lag with Pete's FRG83D build. I have Pete's 1000 MHz SV Kernel installed now, but I think it has to do with the "ROM tool kit" that is built into it, so I might have to go back to FRG83G. FRG83D runs so good though!!
     
  9. simon_lefisch

    simon_lefisch Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +0
    As i said before, every phone reacts different. Try a few and take note of what works best ;)

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
     
  10. buellboy9

    buellboy9 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    FRG83D has a pretty serious SMS bug in it (which is why FRG83G was released). If you don't text much, maybe it won't matter.
     
  11. MattyM

    MattyM New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I noticed the text problem with FRG83D, but I thought it was a keyboard problem. Thanks for pointing it out to me buellboy9. I just flashed FRG83G, and it seems to be running fine. Should I have wiped it, then install?
     
  12. simon_lefisch

    simon_lefisch Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +0
    Never hurts to wipe as it could fix most probs, but not all of them.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2011
  13. MattyM

    MattyM New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    One more question, lol!! I promise this is the last one for a while. Do y'all know where I can find a black notification bar? I had one on FRG83D, but it was a different build. It isn't either one posted on Pete's website now.

    Thank y'all again!!
     
  14. buellboy9

    buellboy9 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Pete's reorganized his website, and now I can't find ANYTHING except his stock images. Can't find Bugless Beast, can't find his GPA builds. Hope he gets that straightened out soon.