Freezing the launcher, safe?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by nakhleh926, Mar 4, 2011.

  1. nakhleh926

    nakhleh926 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    was wondering if it was okay to freeze the plain launcher that comes with most roms for less resource usage, or if it would mess with anything important.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  2. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    I wouldn't try it. But, if I were going to, I'd make a backup just in case.

    DroidForums Junkie!!
     
  3. nakhleh926

    nakhleh926 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    thank you :), will make a backup and think about it, if I do I'll post what happens for anyone curious.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  4. xliderider

    xliderider Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Ratings:
    +1
    I use LPP, and I freeze the stock launcher with no ill effects.
     
  5. nakhleh926

    nakhleh926 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    that makes me feel less scared :p, probably definitely going to do that now. thanks for your input you two :D.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  6. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    ok heres the thing. if u freeze it and ever do a wipe (voluntary or required bc of a bootloop) youre gonna boot up to a black screen bc u have to stock launcher. really only thing from here is to sbf.

    while it may free up a tiny bit of space, its something i would not freeze.
     
  7. nakhleh926

    nakhleh926 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    and now I'm scared :(. I appreciate the input <3.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  8. doomer4life

    doomer4life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do wipes all the time with the stock launcher frozen with no ill effects

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  9. nakhleh926

    nakhleh926 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    and now I'm less scared <3.


    fml...rofl.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  10. doomer4life

    doomer4life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    I guess follow the post that says do a backup first then try as long as you have a good backup should be fine worst case sbf but I doubt you will need to do that

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  11. xliderider

    xliderider Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Ratings:
    +1
    The thing with freezing apps is, every time you wipe data, you also unfreeze all your apps, whether they are reloaded by the cloud, or with Titanium Backup. I find I have to go back and freeze the apps again.

    Deleting or renaming apps is another thing entirely. ;)
     
  12. kptphalkon

    kptphalkon Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    Also you wont have to sbf if a launcher crashes/something messes up and you get an all black screen, just restoring a safe unfrozen nandroid backup will set you up to be just fine....dnt know wtf that guy was talking about
     
Search tags for this page
default launcher safe to freeze
,
freeze original android launcher
,
freeze stock android launcher
,
freeze stock launcher
,
freeze the launcher
,

how to freeze default launcher

,
how to freeze launcher
,

how to freeze stock launcher

,
how to freeze stock launcher android
,
is it safe to freeze launcher on titanium