freezing bloatware without losing any of it

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by OwlD2G, Feb 21, 2011.

  1. OwlD2G
    Offline

    OwlD2G New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How do I freeze bloatware without losing any of it? Is there a list of bloatware somewhere? What app should I use to freeze bloatware?

    Thank you.
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Don't freeze it. Just get Root explorer from the market and change the extension from .apk to three other letters. That will keep it from showing on your screen and if you need to bring them back for an upgrade just change the extensions back to .apk.
  3. pool_shark
    Offline

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    An even easier method in my opinion is to create a new directory and move all of the unwanted apps to that directory.

    I put mine is /system/app/APPS.
    That way when I need to put them back for an update I can go to the terminal
    # cd /system/app/APPS
    # mv * ..
  4. black68gtx
    Offline

    black68gtx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pacific Grove, CA
    Bloatware?

    How do you locate them to "file them away"?
  5. pool_shark
    Offline

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    Most are in /system/app.

    You can find them with root explorer or a terminal emulator.
  6. holmes6
    Offline

    holmes6 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England Patriots
    with your rooted droid, start adb shell

    Replace "Whatever.apk" with the bloat you want to "freeze"

    Code:
    su
    mount -o rw,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    cd /system/app/
    mv Whatever.apk Whatever.apk.bak
    mount -o ro,remount -t ext3 /dev/block/mmcblk1p21 /system
    exit
    exit
    
    This thread has a ton of info
  7. OwlD2G
    Offline

    OwlD2G New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    tried to buy it; never received it; got refund
  8. pool_shark
    Offline

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    Download a terminal emulator and do it manually.
    I think it's easier to just move them to a different directory than renaming.
  9. OwlD2G
    Offline

    OwlD2G New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does it have to be done item by item, or can it be done in 'batches'? Also, is there apost of a comprehensive list of apps to freeze?

    Thank you.
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2011
  10. pool_shark
    Offline

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    It will have to be done per app except for those that start with the same letters.
    Ex: mv Car* will move CarDock.apk and CarDock.odex.
    There is an app list somewhere, you can google it.
Search tags for this page

freeze bloatware

,
freeze bloatware android without root
,
freeze bloatware without root
,
freeze sysetem apps without root
,
freezing android terminal
,

how to freeze bloatware

,

how to freeze bloatware without root

,
how to freeze verizon bloarware
,
how to.freeze..loatware
,
howtofreezebloatwarewithoutroot
,
manually freeze apk