1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Free up memory option

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Lars1, Aug 2, 2010.

  1. Lars1
    Offline

    Lars1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SL,UT
    Morning,

    In many ROM's I've tried, there is an option in settings to free up system memory (50mb-75mb etc.) How does it do this? Is this referring to RAM or ROM? Anyone know?

    My phone says it has 30mb of available RAM, if I enable the "Free up 50mb" option would I then have 80mb to work with? Where does this extra memory come from?

    Thanks in advance.
  2. dpaine88
    Offline

    dpaine88 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also very curious about this..
  3. Droid_3.0
    Offline

    Droid_3.0 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland :P
    as am I curious.
  4. droider4life
    Offline

    droider4life New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    me three..
  5. sremex
    Offline

    sremex New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It basically sets up a task killer through the rom. If you do free up 50mb, your phone will will make sure it has approx. 50mb free. If you do like 100mb, and your phone can only free up 80mb, you might run into issues, then you will need to go down to 75mb free.
  6. dpaine88
    Offline

    dpaine88 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is the default 50mb free for most ROMS?
  7. sremex
    Offline

    sremex New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What do you mean? If you are saying is that what most roms use than no. The default is not on. If you want it on, you have to run the script.
  8. dpaine88
    Offline

    dpaine88 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmm I think in BB v.4 Pete has it auto on to 50mb.

    Hmm...do I just run the script from the terminal?
  9. sremex
    Offline

    sremex New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yea you can do that, or you can go to his app bb toolkit then got to script and click on the one you want to run, it is easier if you don't know how to runs scripts.
  10. dpaine88
    Offline

    dpaine88 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Switching around now between BB 4, sapphire 8 and Lithium Mod right now, probably the same for all of them I guess.

    Thanks for all the info.


    Any recommendations on which setting to use? 50,75,100? pros/cons?
  11. sremex
    Offline

    sremex New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It depends on what type of Rom you use and what you have open. What I generally do when I get a new rom, is to download advance task killer, Kill all the apps I don't want open, and leave the once I constantly use open (aka news/weather). Once I kill the apps, it will tell me how much mb I have free. If I have above 50 but below 75 I do 50mb, but if I have like 85mb free I will do 75mb. I don't recommend using 100mb, because I have yet to use a rom where I have that much free.
  12. dpaine88
    Offline

    dpaine88 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Thanks for the advice man!
  13. sremex
    Offline

    sremex New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No Problem.
  14. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Less is more!

    It's counter-intuitive to the way you're used to thinking about memory on a normal windows, linux, or mac system where you want to have as much free memory as possible. In those systems, things are only removed from memory when you close them - and if you run out of memory, the system will slow down as it tries to swap to a hard drive or may even refuse to run additional programs. Android is different.

    AndroidOS has a built-in low-memory-task-killer whose purpose is to swap out tasks when you need more ram to run new tasks. Android is smart about it, too - it doesn't just kill a task - it suspends the state, so that you can recall it again without losing anything (if the app was properly designed). Keeping an app in memory doesn't require any more CPU or battery power, and it doesn't slow anything down. In fact, if it's an app you run often (email, browser, etc), you will notice a speed INCREASE by keeping it in memory, since it will be able to pop back up quicker.

    What does all of this mean? If you "free 50mb", you are effectively designating that you want to always have 50mb free. If 50mb is always free, that means it's NEVER USED. You're basically saying "please block off 50mb of my ram - I don't want it anymore". The ideal case is nearly ZERO free. All of your ram should be used to hold things you might need soon so that they will be quickly accessed. You do still need some small amount of free space to be able to run things like the task killer itself, but the "less is more" philosophy still applies.

    There is still some benefit to closing out of apps you aren't using - if they have background tasks that you don't want or need, they can eat up CPU (and battery), but most apps (email, mms, browser, etc) will just sit there when you aren't using them actively, so you may as well leave them in memory so you can get back to them quicker.
  15. dpaine88
    Offline

    dpaine88 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the info Se7en!

    If I ran a script to free 50mb memory(Lithium Mod), how do I un-do that?
  16. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just reboot the phone - those free memory scripts don't persist, generally.
Search tags for this page
droid x available memory
,
free up memory droid 4
,
free up memory on motorola xt935
,
freeing system memory on droid
,

freeing up ram on droid x

,

how to free memory on droid x

,
how to free up memory on droid charge
,
how to free up memory on droid x phone
,
how to free up memory on droid x2
,
how to free up ram on droid x2
,
how to free up ram on motorola droid
,
how to free up system rom android
,
how to have more system memory droid