Free up memory option

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Lars1, Aug 2, 2010.

  1. Lars1

    Lars1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SL,UT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Morning,

    In many ROM's I've tried, there is an option in settings to free up system memory (50mb-75mb etc.) How does it do this? Is this referring to RAM or ROM? Anyone know?

    My phone says it has 30mb of available RAM, if I enable the "Free up 50mb" option would I then have 80mb to work with? Where does this extra memory come from?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. dpaine88

    dpaine88 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Also very curious about this..
     
  3. Droid_3.0

    Droid_3.0 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Maryland :P
    Ratings:
    +0
    as am I curious.
     
  4. droider4life

    droider4life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. sremex

    sremex Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It basically sets up a task killer through the rom. If you do free up 50mb, your phone will will make sure it has approx. 50mb free. If you do like 100mb, and your phone can only free up 80mb, you might run into issues, then you will need to go down to 75mb free.
     
  6. dpaine88

    dpaine88 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Is the default 50mb free for most ROMS?
     
  7. sremex

    sremex Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    What do you mean? If you are saying is that what most roms use than no. The default is not on. If you want it on, you have to run the script.
     
  8. dpaine88

    dpaine88 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hmm I think in BB v.4 Pete has it auto on to 50mb.

    Hmm...do I just run the script from the terminal?
     
  9. sremex

    sremex Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea you can do that, or you can go to his app bb toolkit then got to script and click on the one you want to run, it is easier if you don't know how to runs scripts.
     
  10. dpaine88

    dpaine88 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Switching around now between BB 4, sapphire 8 and Lithium Mod right now, probably the same for all of them I guess.

    Thanks for all the info.


    Any recommendations on which setting to use? 50,75,100? pros/cons?
     
  11. sremex

    sremex Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It depends on what type of Rom you use and what you have open. What I generally do when I get a new rom, is to download advance task killer, Kill all the apps I don't want open, and leave the once I constantly use open (aka news/weather). Once I kill the apps, it will tell me how much mb I have free. If I have above 50 but below 75 I do 50mb, but if I have like 85mb free I will do 75mb. I don't recommend using 100mb, because I have yet to use a rom where I have that much free.
     
  12. dpaine88

    dpaine88 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1

    Thanks for the advice man!
     
Similar Threads
  1. Paulb787
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    2,052
  2. spindizzy
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,758
  3. Dfranyo
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    2,029
Loading...
Search tags for this page
droid x available memory
,
freeing system memory on droid
,
freeing up ram on droid x
,

how to free memory on droid x

,
how to free up memory on droid charge
,
how to free up memory on droid x2
,
how to free up ram on droid x2
,
how to free up ram on motorola droid
,
how to free up system rom android
,
how to have more system memory droid