Free Ram on DROID?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by grimloktt, May 19, 2010.

  1. grimloktt
    Offline

    grimloktt Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have anywhere from 40-50mb of free RAM at a time. Is this bad or good?
  2. Diordna
    Offline

    Diordna Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Cape Coral - FLORIDA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I have around there to and I'm sure anyone else who posts here will say the same
  3. Darkseider
    Offline

    Darkseider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,866
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not bad at all. If you would like to know how Android manages memory better here is an explanation. If you go to Settings ---> Applications ---> Running Services, there are numbers along the bottom. Here is the explanation of those numbers.

    Finally, along the bottom of the screen are some obscure numbers. If you know how to interpret them, this gives you a lot of information on the memory status of your device:

    * Avail: 38MB+114MB in 25 says that the device has 38MB of completely free (or likely used for unrequired caches) memory, and has another 114MB of available memory in 25 background processes it can kill at any time.
    • Other: 32MB in 3 says that the device has 32MB of unavailable memory in 3 unkillable processes (that is, processes that are currently considered to be foreground and must be kept running)
  4. jsh1120
    Offline

    jsh1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,462
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Ratings:
    +1
    You're fine. If you look at the size of the apps you have in memory, even the largest are only 4-5 mg in size. If you have 40-50mb free, the o/s can start anything it needs to run without swapping out running apps.
  5. Big Cam
    Offline

    Big Cam Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you want to free up memory, you can always clear the cache from your apps.

    Click on settings > applications > manage applications > filter > All > then clear cache, big cache users that arent on the regular list are the browser and youtube.


    I cleared all my cahce after a few weeks and I freed up 35mb.
  6. grimloktt
    Offline

    grimloktt Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there anything that'll keep certain things from autostarting? I tried Startup Auditor and it didn't work...
  7. jlnguyen
    Offline

    jlnguyen Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have 17 free :icon_ cry:
  8. Darkseider
    Offline

    Darkseider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,866
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes 17 free but how many in background processes that can be killed?
  9. sparx1
    Offline

    sparx1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Sounds good and appreciate the advice, but when I hit manage apps, I do not get a choice for FILTER
  10. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    You can root and freeze apps...but it's really not needed.
Search tags for this page
android free up ram
,
droid razr m free up memory
,
free ram droid
,
free up ram droid 4
,
free up ram droid bionic
,
hot to free up ram on droid bionic
,
how to free up memory on your bionic droid
,

how to free up ram on droid

,
how to free up ram on droid razr
,
vondroid only 114mb