Free Memory?

Discussion in 'ChevyNo1' started by MaCe, Aug 20, 2010.

  1. MaCe

    MaCe Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Whats everyones avg free memory avail??? I came from BB and always had around 50mb or so .. for some reason now with SS 4.7 im runnin at 22mb ? any ideas ? Im running the same widgets i had with BB
     
  2. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Most of us don't worry about memory as Droid does a good job of handling it on it's own. Just out of curiosity are you running a task killer? If you aren't I'm not recommending that you should.
     
  3. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    Are you running the stock launcher? If not - have you deleted the stock launcher?

    Also - pretty sure BB has a more agressive taskkiller - which means more free memory, but sometimes lags because apps have to reopen because they've been killed ...
     
  4. MaCe

    MaCe Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    ya i have advanced task killer .. and ya chevy i deleted the stock launcher using ur tools , i only noticed because it was getting real laggy all of a sudden and when i opened up task killer it said i had 22 avail .. i'll play around with it and get back to you guys im sure im overlooking something appreciate the quick replys!
     
  5. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    U bet! - Also, you can try the task killer under my scripts - see if that makes a difference
     
  6. jasonppp

    jasonppp Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    advance task killer hasnt worked right since bb 1.1 i prefer advance task manage kills more items and has an awesome exclusions list. and great auto kill settings.
    [​IMG]
    this is just my opinion from me watching what my phone is doing but again like task killer was only was good in eclair days. but the memory manager in froyo sucks and i will keep my advance task manager.

    i think froyo is a memory hog ie...
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    all these apps reopened within seconds of closing them minus the excluded
    {EXCLUDED}
    temp monitor
    setcpu
    beautiful widgets
    shootme
    adw launcher
    swype
    system info widget
    {EXCLUDED}
     
    #6 jasonppp, Aug 20, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2010
  7. sranger

    sranger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The way I see it:

    Do you want your memory sitting around waiting to be used or do you want it to be use to cache more thing to make the phone faster.....

    Remember unused memory is doing nothing useful...
     
  8. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    Well said - which is why if anything, my ROM (as designed) is under-agressive on these settings.
     
  9. Taegost

    Taegost Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tampa Bay, Fl
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yeah, from what I understand the OS will try to fill memory so it'll be available when needed. BB is set up to "always" have at least 50M free, whereas other ROMs just let the OS handle memory management.
    When your phone starts to lag... How long has it been since your last reboot? :)
     
  10. Porterhouse0

    Porterhouse0 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    well now im second guessing my free memory method...i use "auto killer"....i have it set on "aggressive"...can i please have some feedback on if this is a good app or not? and if so, is aggressive the correct preset i want it set on...it doesnt matter to me if it takes .8 seconds to open an app rather than .5 seconds lol what i care about is if i pull down my notification bar and it jumps or lags....or of course the lag scrolling in between homescreens.
     
    #10 Porterhouse0, Aug 20, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2010
  11. ChevyNo1

    ChevyNo1 Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    I think some of that is very subjective ... therefore, I suggest you try both agressive and default, and see what seems to feel best to you ... that's what I do.
     
  12. devator22

    devator22 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mid-West United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    Chevy:
    How is your task killer different from others? I stopped using one when I moved to SS 4.6, and it ran very smoothly. So what is the advantage to using yours?
    As an aside, I use MinFreeManager because I heard it helped a lot, in conjunction with autostarts. MFM I had on default normal settings, and with autostarts I stopped a lot of the processes I never use. It seemed to alleviate the majority of my lag and redraw issues (using ADW). However, when I upgraded to 4.7 (with no wipe), the lag is back, and it's worse, much worse. My homescreen takes ages to redraw, even though I have it set to persist. Everything else is the same. I deleted Launcher2, which at first seemed to make it a little better, but I think it may even be worse now. It gets better after a reboot, but after about an hour, even if I just leave it with the screen off, the lag comes back, and it gets worse the longer I have it on. I tried your task manager, but it didn't seem to make a difference.
     
Similar Threads
  1. Lars1
    Replies:
    15
    Views:
    7,522
Loading...