1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Freaking out here!!!!

Discussion in 'Rescue Squad Help' started by irishdroid, Jun 14, 2010.

  1. irishdroid
    Offline

    irishdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I loaded FROYO Test 5 from the ROM Manager, JRummy. Everything was smooth until just now. I got a message saying I was running out of space on my Droid, so, I deleted a few things, cleared my download cache. I also did fix permissions from rom manager before all this too. I rebooted and now I am getting an endless boot loop. I tried the X/power button method and the M logo came up, went away and then came back and sent me into the FROYO boot loop again. I am stuck here and freaking out.

    Anyone have advice on how I can get back into recovery to I can load my last backup????

    Also, when I deleted items a couple of days ago I did delete DM Updater, driodmod was my first rom, idk if that caused a problem.
  2. gardobus
    Offline

    gardobus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,973
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    I'm not sure why your OS won't boot but after flashing Froyo, it seems like you need to flash Clockwork again. Froyo for some reason removes it or disables it or something. So that is why you can't get into recovery.

    You may have to flash an sbf :icon_eek: but wait for someone else's input first.
  3. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    You used ROM Manager? So you used clockwork?

    If that's the case I'm not sure what to tell you. If you used SPRecovery a wipe both data and cache should fix it.
  4. irishdroid
    Offline

    irishdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    But how do I flash clockwork again if I am stuck in a boot loop?
  5. kenbarnum
    Offline

    kenbarnum New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is my reply to someone else that had our problem from 6/10 on another thread:
    This happened to me today. I believe Rom Manager caused it when we flashed the latest version of clockwork...It was a bad version or something...
    anyway, here is what I did:

    Since it was in a boot loop it took a lot of trial and error to get the bootloader screen (I had to have the phone hooked up to my PC and push my battery (low battery from all the boot loops) in as I was pushing power and up on the d pad)...took several tries.
    Guide to Rooting Android 2.1 on a Motorola Droid | Droid Life: A Motorola Droid Blog

    I then flashed sprecovery back on. Downloaded the 2.1 rooted update zip, transfered to the sd card, installed.
    That booted but a bunch of system files were still corrupt or missing so I had no 3g, wireless, or cell service.
    Tried redoing the baseband update but was no help.
    Downloaded Petes new froyo to PC, transferred to droid and reinstalled using sprecovery.

    That actually loaded with what seemed to be a few small issues. I downloaded rom manager. Flashed a clockwork recovery (just in case).
    Then I installed one of my backups BBv1.1 from rom manager.

    Seems to work perfectly again and I think I will wait a while before trying froyo or petes froyo...This problem set me back 3 hours!


    Then SRGENT ROOT said:
    i fixed it by puting my sd card in my pc and puting in the stock

    Maybe the two of these will help...sorry..it is a pain in the ass
  6. gardobus
    Offline

    gardobus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,973
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    It is too late to flash again, that's why I said you may have to flash an sbf. Which is what is described in the above post.
  7. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,041
    Likes Received:
    856
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Reboot into recovery and install a clockwork rom ie cyanogenmod
  8. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,041
    Likes Received:
    856
    Trophy Points:
    113
  9. irishdroid
    Offline

    irishdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't reboot into recovery.
  10. gardobus
    Offline

    gardobus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,973
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Yes, if you can't get to recovery and can't boot into Android to flash a recovery then all you can do is flash an sbf using RSD Lite.
  11. kenbarnum
    Offline

    kenbarnum New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    See my post from above. I am 100% positive we had the same problem and you need to do what I did.
  12. irishdroid
    Offline

    irishdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am a total newb when it comes to doing any of this through my pc. I used droidmod to root and have never done anything through usb cable. Is it possibe to mount my SD card and then install a backup.....

    Sorry I am clueless on this.
  13. kenbarnum
    Offline

    kenbarnum New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry, I don't know the answer to that. You'll have to wait for Rescue Squad for an answer to that.

    I only know the method I used.
    Good luck!
  14. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio

    Here's some easy to follow instructions, video included on how to download SPRecovery. Start here, I think you'll be OK.

    Video: Flashing SPRecovery SBF to Stock 2.1 | Droid Life: A Motorola Droid Blog
  15. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,057
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    If you cannot get into recovery then anything you do with you sdcard won't help. You will need to flash the sprecovery sbf through rsd lite. I know it sounds a little daunting but just take some time and read how to do it and make sure you understand the steps to take. At this point its your only option.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  16. tlippert
    Offline

    tlippert New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    I had the same problem yesterday... I had to use rsdlite and reflash sprecovery.... follow the directions on the droid-life link that was posted.. download rsdlite, the moto drivers and the sprecovery file. I then pulled the battery and pulled my sdcard... I then put rooted 2.1 on my sd card and put in back into my phone.. I opened rsdlite and had it ready... I plugged my phone it.. for some reason when ever i put the usb cable in my phone it automatically started.. so I had to be pushing up on the dpad and then installed my battery which automatically stared my phone.. It took me three times but I was able to get to the bootloader screen...at the bootloader I then flashed sprecovery through rsdlite and then was able to install the rooted 2.1 file to my phone... it was fixed.. I then used one of my backups to get me back to where I was..
  17. irishdroid
    Offline

    irishdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for all of the input! I am at work right now so I have to wait until I get home to try this. I hope it works, I will post later today with either a Im Back In Business or a $!#$ what now post!
  18. kenbarnum
    Offline

    kenbarnum New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't worry...Like I said I think we had the same problem. You are not bricked. Just take your time and follow the instructions. You'll be good to go!
  19. tlippert
    Offline

    tlippert New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    I think it's just about impossible to brick your phone... I think your problem is the same everyone else is having, rom manager was not correctly flashing clockworkmod recovery that is what screwed me up... not able to boot into recovery... I fixed it by reflashing sprecovery from rom manager and then flashing clockworkmod recovery.. i had to do this twice and now it works...
  20. irishdroid
    Offline

    irishdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    And....I am back!!!!

    Thanks for all of the help. It was alot easier than I thought it would be. I actually remembered that I had never actually updated OTA to 2.1 so I went back to 2.0.1 and then took the OTA for 2.1 and then rooted again.

    Think I will go back to JRummy and his customizer V8.

    Again, thank you all!
Search tags for this page

lg chocolate boot loop

,

lg dare boot loop

,
lg dare stuck at start up screen fix
,
lg dare stuck at verizon logo
,
vx9700 dare bootloader help