Framework push/pull issue

Discussion in 'Android Themes' started by ecsnead69, Jun 22, 2010.

  1. microsnook

    microsnook Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    adb remount
    adb push framework-res.apk /system/framework you just have the / in the wrong spot :)
     
  2. hett

    hett Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Florida
    Ratings:
    +1
    I don't turn Sync off before I do it. When I'm ready to resync, I just launch the Market, which immediately puts you into the login screen.
     
  3. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    That isn't really the issue. Since if you left the / off it would do it to begin with.

    I can say that I have not made an update.zip from scratch. I took one from a developer and emptied out the folders by opening it with 7zip. Then just replaced with what I wanted in there. Really simple and like it better then MM since some roms don't like it.
     
  4. ecsnead69

    ecsnead69 Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +1
    ok, thanks. I had been going into accounts, add... blah, blah. Your way sounds alot faster!
     
  5. hett

    hett Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Florida
    Ratings:
    +1
    That's a lot slower when you're doing graphics stuff that requires you to push, look how it is, make adjustments, push again, etc.
     
  6. ecsnead69

    ecsnead69 Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +1
    You wouldn't happen to have one that changes the framework-res.apk would you? I would love to get my hands on it so I can tear it apart and get a look at what is in the update.zip... folder structure, content, etc..... Thanks a lot if you do, if not I will try to find something on the forum....
     
  7. ecsnead69

    ecsnead69 Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +1
    thanks for the info Hett, do you push in recovery or while the phone is on regular (idle)?
     
  8. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    Getting an empty template_update.zip uploaded right now. Just open it with 7 zip. There will be two folders there (system and the META-inf). The system folder is where you will be putting things just like when you push to system. So in the system folder in the template there are three folders (fonts, apps, and framework). These are just think on the droid. Put apps in the the apps folder. System fonts in the the fonts folder. Framework-res.apk and services.jar files in the the framework folder. You have to put the whole file in there or it won't work.

    You should never need to touch the META-inf folder except to change the updater script. That is located at /META-inf/com/google/android/updater-script. Open that file with notepad or notepad++. It will look like this

    Code:
     
    ui_print("");
    package_extract_dir("kernel", "/tmp");
    ui_print("[COLOR=red]Installing theme please wait[/COLOR]");
    set_perm(0, 3004, 02755, "/system/bin/ping");
    set_perm(0, 0, 0777, "/tmp/dump_image");
    set_perm(0, 0, 0777, "/tmp/mkbootimg");
    set_perm(0, 0, 0777, "/tmp/unpackbootimg");
    run_program("/tmp/dump_image", "boot", "/tmp/boot.img");
    run_program("/tmp/unpackbootimg", "/tmp/boot.img", "/tmp/");
    run_program("/tmp/mkbootimg", "--kernel", "/tmp/zImage", "--ramdisk", "/tmp/boot.img-ramdisk.img", "--cmdline", "console=ttyS2,115200n8 rw [EMAIL="mem=244M@0x80C00000"]mem=244M@0x80C00000[/EMAIL] init=/init ip=off brdrev=P3A_CDMA mtdparts=omap2-nand.0:640k@128k(mbm),384k@1408k(cdt),384k@3328k(lbl),384k@6272k(misc),3584k(boot),4608k(recovery),143744k(system),94848k(cache),268032k(userdata),2m(kpanic)", "--base", "0x10000000", "--output", "/tmp/newboot.img");
    write_raw_image("/tmp/newboot.img", "boot");
    ui_print("[COLOR=red]This is a template update.zip please change this[/COLOR]");
    mount("MTD", "system", "/system");set_progress(1.000000);
    package_extract_dir("system", "/system");
    unmount("/system");
    
    
    The areas in red you can change to whatever you want. You will have to drag this file out of the open archive window of 7zip to edit it. When done editing put it back into the correct location of the open archive window.

    Once you are done with putting .apks and files in the the zip, I hit the up arrow until it is all the way out of the package to make sure it updates or closed correctly.

    Just remember that with sprecovery this needs to be labeled as update.zip but with clockwork it can be anything.zip. Also I have not tried this one on sprecovery, so it may not work.

    template_update.zip
     
  9. ecsnead69

    ecsnead69 Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +1
    Bowers, thanks a lot, never thought about this to change fonts!! This opens up a lot more theming possibilities?!?!?! Anyway, I might be getting back with you for some more help until I get one or two under my belt, if you don't mind???
     
  10. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    Always willing to help :icon_ banana:. Sometimes too much.
     
  11. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,344
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    I was asking about how to make an update.zip a few weeks back,after making the transition from BB 0.1 to 0.2 I have always pushed all of my themed.apk's and framework-res back into the system after a rom update manually via Better Terminal. I must have twenty .apk's (some themed and some not) I keep in the system, after that push my fingers, hands, and wrists would hurt

    Sent from my Droid thru Time and Space
     
  12. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +315
    i'm no genius with this stuff, and the edits i made to the framework were simply some .png changes, but i simply used root explorer to put the .apk in system/framework and change the permissions to 644, rebooted, and it worked perfectly

    i know this post is a few weeks old, and i'm currently running frg01b
     
Search tags for this page

adb push framework reboot

,
how to push framework folder via adb
,
pushing frameworks file in android
,
wrong framework pulling result android