Framework push/pull issue

Discussion in 'Android Themes' started by ecsnead69, Jun 22, 2010.

  1. ecsnead69

    ecsnead69 Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am having a small issue when I push my editted framework-res folder back to the phone. After the reboot the files are changed but my google account has disappeared? I add the account back and everything is fine but this seems strange because this doen't happen when changing the framework using MM??? anyway, I was hoping some of you may know what is wrong??? here is the code I am using to push the .apk back

    adb remount
    adb push framework-res.apk system/framework/
    adb reboot

    I am on 2.2 (Froyo). Any ideas???

    Thanks.....

    Also, can I just leave a copy of the framework-res.apk on my computer and just push it whenever I make a change??
     
  2. titans

    titans Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't get how ADB is working on your Froyo but

    adb push framework-res.apk system/framework
    adb shell
    chmod 644 system/framework/framework-res.apk
    sync
    reboot
     
  3. ecsnead69

    ecsnead69 Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just download the new 2.2 platform and the tools v.6. Once you have that setup, open CMD and type.....

    adb root
    adb remount

    and your in.........
     
  4. ecsnead69

    ecsnead69 Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +1
    Bump for ideas???
     
  5. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    Haven't pushed the framework-res.apk myself through ADB as it wasn't working right. Update.zip format does not do this, just as a side note. Also @titans you do need to update you SDK to version 6. I had v4 before and it wouldn't act right with Froyo.

    Anyways I will try to push the framework to the phone right now and see how it goes.
     
  6. ecsnead69

    ecsnead69 Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks a lot! How do you usually push the framework-res?? Or do you use another method? I thought about writing a MM file but I am not familiar with it????
     
  7. ecsnead69

    ecsnead69 Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +1
    Bump for any more ideas.....
     
  8. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sorry I went to work and forgot to reply back to this. I did the push and after reboot I had to add both Facebook and Google account. Just wondering what rom you are on? I am using p3droid's second release and didn't know if you were using the same.
     
  9. hett

    hett Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Florida
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have been using ADB with Froyo for a little while, and I also experience this. Pushing framework-res.apk causes the Google Account to reset. This requires you to re-login via Market, log back into Facebook and Twitter, and then let your contacts resync. It's not terribly inconvenient, but it is annoying, and I haven't found a solution yet. Generally when I know I am going to be pushing framework-res I try and finish up all my work at once, and then once I know I'm done for the time being, I resync.
     
  10. ecsnead69

    ecsnead69 Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +1
    Bowers, I am running Kangerade..... How do you push your framework files? Just wondering if you had a better way....

    Hett, do you turn your sync off before the push or just resync after it kicks you out after the push?
     
  11. thebowers

    thebowers Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +1
    Put it in an update.zip and you won't have to worry about resyncing.
     
    #11 thebowers, Jun 22, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2010
  12. ecsnead69

    ecsnead69 Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +1
    not familiar with making update.zip files. Any place/link I can go to read up on this?? I would also like to learn how to make MM files.... Thanks for the help!
     
Search tags for this page

adb push framework reboot

,
how to push framework folder via adb
,
pushing frameworks file in android
,
wrong framework pulling result android