FoxKat's Razr/Maxx Jelly Bean Leak Classroom W/MattyP & Friends

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Support' started by FoxKat, Jan 9, 2013.

  1. itzjusmee
    Offline

    itzjusmee New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On my Suzuki
    You could also move the utility to the root of your C:\ drive, opening up dos manually by typing cmd in your search/run bar in the start menu and running the utility that way.
  2. swallman
    Offline

    swallman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Western Wisconsin
    Still looking for a response as to whether or not a wipe is recommended/required after going from .215 back to .211 ?

    Thanks!
  3. sakana
    Offline

    sakana New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montana
    Depends, if your upgrading to JB then just do the FDR after that. If your staying on .211 then i would do one.
  4. rotordroid
    Offline

    rotordroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, CA
    I didn't. I also did not do one prior to JB.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  5. aarong03
    Offline

    aarong03 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Central New York
    Thanks. I ended up putting it in the temp folder and it worked.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using Droid Forums
  6. aarong03
    Offline

    aarong03 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Central New York
    OK. After updating to JB I rooted w/out doing an FDR. Should I do the FDR?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using Droid Forums
  7. sakana
    Offline

    sakana New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montana
    An FDR is up to you. I do them after every update and a every couple months. But its personal preference. If you feel things are not working properly then an FDR can fix it. But there isn't anything that says you have to do it.

    Just make sure you have voodoo installed and you protect root a couple times. Titanium Backup is handy also. I didn't protect properly after the JB update and I lost superuser and had to re-root. Which isn't a big deal it just took longer then I was hopping for.
    1 person likes this.
  8. sakana
    Offline

    sakana New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montana
    I'm in the process of training my battery at the moment but I have noticed a drop in battery life after the JB update. Hopping its just a battery training issue and it will be fixed once i get it done but I'm only getting about 8-9 hours or so on lite use. That or something is running I haven't noticed yet.
    1 person likes this.
  9. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,612
    Likes Received:
    824
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    This has been the way my computer has reacted to the Droid RAZR Utilities since the first. I've always had to extract to C:\ and then it works fine. I didn't even have to open the Command window separately once it's installed on C:\, just open the folder, double-click on the bat file and it works fine.

    Extracted on the desktop has the same results as aarong03 does...the window just closes on its own.
    1 person likes this.
  10. dotcom
    Offline

    dotcom New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Problems w Class 1 , return to .211 Stock

    I followed the instructions carefully in Class 1, after the reboot, I only get the Red M motorola splash screen and then black. I cant get any further. is this fatal?
  11. aarong03
    Offline

    aarong03 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Central New York
    Foxkat,
    When doing an FDR should I keep the box checked for automatic restore for my apps? Also how do I use rootkeeper to keep my root if I do the factory reset? I'm going to do an FDR after getting JB last night. Going to do it tonight. Thanks for your help sir!
  12. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    :
    I would not keep the box checked for auto restore because Play Store will restore/install all your apps which can bog down your phone and will restore apps that you may no longer want. I always restore my apps one at a time. If you use titanium backup or My Backup, backup all your apps (gives you a helpful list of all the apps you had installed and a backup of apps that may no longer be available... such as flash player). Even though I have my apps backed up, I install my apps via Play Store rather than use my backup (except for things like flash or apps that I don't want the updated version of). See this post as a guide for ideas when backing up and restoring before doing an fdr : http://www.droidforums.net/forum/rescue-squad-help/219101-getting-most-success-upgrading-ics-gb.html

    To save root, in VooDoo Rootkeeper select protect root although just doing an fdr will not cause you to lose root but great idea to protect it anyway.

    Hopefully this helps. FoxKat may have a different answer or some other ideas but this should get you started!

    Sent from my XT907 using Tapatalk 2
    1 person likes this.
  13. aarong03
    Offline

    aarong03 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Central New York
    This is good in go for me Tis! Thanks!

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using Droid Forums
    1 person likes this.
  14. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Cool! And you're welcome! Happy to help.

    Sent from my XT907 using Tapatalk 2
    1 person likes this.
  15. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,612
    Likes Received:
    824
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    If I knew what system you were on when you started, I might know what went wrong, however I do have a solution...thanks to CamoMike, we have a way to recover from a bricked RAZR, and it seems it works no matter what system was flashed on it before.

    Check out FIX: Soft Bricked after reverting from Jelly Bean update
  16. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,612
    Likes Received:
    824
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    :
    You make me so proud!! :eek:
    1 person likes this.
  17. sakana
    Offline

    sakana New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montana
    I thought this also Tis but I did lose root after an FDR just after the OTA JB update. I kept root from ICS using voodoo to temp unroot to get the OTA. Once the update was finished I still had root but forgot to protect again in voodoo so once I did an FDR I lost the root. Not a big deal since the new JB root works but still annoying.
  18. aarong03
    Offline

    aarong03 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Central New York
    I did what Tis suggested and worked good. Still had root after FDR.
  19. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    Thanks sakana, that is good to know! Happy to hear it worked good for you aarong. Don't forget to protect root once on JB.

    Sent from my XT907 using Tapatalk 2
  20. helron
    Offline

    helron New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I followed the link below as suggested by so,many GURUs on this board, and achieved JB root with ease! I was so fearful of rooting,yet had to try, because of poor battery issues since JB OTA.
    Had to FDR anyway, so why not root! THANKS TO ALL who helped, and responded to my questions. Now, I need to gain a better understanding of SuperUser and Titanium Back up:)
    Thanks a million! You all ROCK!

    http://www.droidrzr.com/index.php/t...ility-190-windows-mac-linux-all-in-one/]DROID RAZR Utility 1.90 -- Windows + Mac + Linux (All In One!) - DroidRzr.com

    BTW! I used Options 1 and 3 for FDR, full data wipe, install JB and root.

    Droid Razr via Tapatalk
    1 person likes this.
Search tags for this page
droid razr maxx no lte baseband
,
favorite contact widget motorola razr
,
foxkat
,
foxkat's explanation on droidforums.net
,
how to use droid razr utility to update to jb
,
mattlgroff
,

motorola droid razr maxx 215 back to 211 rom

,
no notepad with jelly bean update
,
on droid razr with .215, how do i recover to .211 in order t
,

razr maxx jb

,

razr maxx jelly bean update

,
smart action 4.2.2.4 apk.0