FoxFi

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid MAXX' started by Tas, Sep 11, 2013.

  1. Tas
    Offline

    Tas Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    So still no word when this will be available and working on the Maxx? Anyone have any other way to get this done?

    Droid Maxxxxxxxx
  2. leeshor
    Online

    leeshor DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3,100
    Likes Received:
    468
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +474
    I don't know why it shouldn't. It needs to be combined with the newest version of both FoxFi and PDANet. Once configured, when executed, and it pops up with the error abut contacting your carrier you should be able to use it. Just ignore the error.
  3. night_train44
    Offline

    night_train44 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    foxfi doesn't work on the motorola droid maxx (yet). I know because i tried it yesterday. the usb internet works though, but not the wifi one. also, if you try to use it, you will kill your screenlock with slider, face recognition, or no lock, and be stuck with password or pattern. it was a pain to fix.
  4. Tas
    Offline

    Tas Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I also lost ability to Facelock and all you mentioned. After numerous Google searches, a "clear credentials" fixed it. Pain in the buttocks though. I remember someone else mentioning it worked through pdanet. Gonna have to look into that.

    Droid Maxxxxxxxx
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2013
  5. chuck54
    Offline

    chuck54 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    There is now a fix to no wireless tether, it's the entitlement check for the built in hotspot app, one sec and I can find a link.

    There is no alternative quite yet that we know of, the maxx is pretty darn new and root was obtained only days ago. More things will come out and maybe foxfi support :)
  6. chuck54
    Offline

    chuck54 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    chrisc2u's Photo
    chrisc2u
    12 Sep 2013
    Credit to DirtyDroidX and PipeHitter, after you root (thanks JCase!) You can now use SQLite Manager or the free method below to enable your mobile hotspots on the new Droids without the entitlement check!

    http://www.droidrzr....e-hotspot-hack/


    PipeHitter, on 30 Jul 2013 - 5:16 PM, said:
    For using the stock Mobile Hotspot, here is a quick walk-thru using some free sql apps if you want to avoid paying for SQLite Manager.

    As always, all standard caveats apply - ie perform at your own risk. ROOT IS REQUIRED!

    Note: If you make an error while in aSQLiteManager don't panic, just back out and when prompted to save tap NO, then start over.

    1 Launch your stock Mobile Hotspot app to ensure a db entry is created[/size]. It will not work and give a msg stating to call cust svc, thats fine.
    2 Back out and download both aShell and aSQLiteManager by ANDSEN in play store for free[/size]
    3 Launch aShell and agree to terms, etc.[/size]
    4 Make sure you enable root access by checking box in upper left corner that says "root"[/size]
    5 Tap "file explorer" and navigate to /data/data and select "com.motorola.android.providers.settings"[/size]
    6 Select "database"[/size]
    7 Select "settings.db" !!!BE PATIENT!!, it will take a momement to create a temp file [/size]and give you a response
    8 Tap complete action using either reference to aSQLite[/size]
    9 Tap open database with aSQLiteManager[/size]
    10 Tap settings[/size]
    11 Tap data[/size]
    12 Tap pgdn until you see “entitlement_check” (mine was row 67)[/size]
    13 Tap "edit" on row 67, then change "value" from the default of 1, to 0[/size]
    14 Tap OK[/size]
    15 Reboot[/size]

    Now you should be able to use VZW Mobile Hotspot[/size] with no problems. I've connected with various devices and all behaves normally.

    Posted using wifi hotspot from my new Droid MAXX :)





    I found this on droid rzr forums, I am about to try it out and see if its still free (always a worry right???)
  7. chuck54
    Offline

    chuck54 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay this method is confusing, its much easier to get sqlite editor app and go to setting storage and look for line 65 entitlement check and change it from 1 to 0 (that's what the above method does) and it turns on now for me. Anyone else tried this???
  8. Mr.Rotorflyr
    Offline

    Mr.Rotorflyr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    This method does require root, correct?
  9. leeshor
    Online

    leeshor DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3,100
    Likes Received:
    468
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +474
    The post states that it does.
  10. Big D
    Offline

    Big D Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    rooting takes about 3 minutes. No reason not to. Entitlement hack takes another minute. No reason why anyone shouldn't do this.
  11. Mr.Rotorflyr
    Offline

    Mr.Rotorflyr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    No it doesn't, it states:
    The post ABOVE that one states Root is required...
  12. Mr.Rotorflyr
    Offline

    Mr.Rotorflyr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    You mean Other then the fact that people have bricked their phones when not careful? :D
  13. leeshor
    Online

    leeshor DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3,100
    Likes Received:
    468
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +474
    Same thing. If you need to use SQLITE Editor you would need root.
  14. Pickerken
    Offline

    Pickerken New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, mi
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would love to know how you got the lock screen fixed.

    I can not get rid of the darn password lock.
    did you do a reset of the phone?
  15. donzz
    Offline

    donzz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    I think you have to go into Security and Locks then Device Adminstrators and check or uncheck something. Can't remember. You have to have the screen lock tho, for Fox Fi to work.
Search tags for this page

droid maxx foxfi

,
fox fi droid maxx
,

foxfi

,
foxfi app password on galaxy s4
,
foxfi for droid maxx
,
foxfi on droid forums
,
motorola maxx hot spot foxfi
,
pgdn until you see 65. entitlement check and change that val
,
where can you find the pin number for foxfi
,
why doesnt foxfi have internet