Foxfi update

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by jmanches, Apr 9, 2013.

  1. jmanches
    Offline

    jmanches Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +6
    As the title says, my foxfi just updated and it says it now works with the razr and other Motorola phones. Time to update! =)
  2. recDNA
    Offline

    recDNA Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +6
    What is the "data restriction" on the free version of Foxfi? Is it time related as well as total data related? I use relatively little data but need to connect for a couple of hours at a time. If I wanted the paid version I would just pay vzw.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk 2
  3. jmanches
    Offline

    jmanches Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +6
    As far as i know, it's a one time fee of like 8 dollars
  4. brobox
    Offline

    brobox Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8
    Verizon $20. a month. Foxfi $7.99 one time charge. I have been using it since it came out and it's worth every penny. I have not updated to JB yet because of Foxfi, but I will now. Great news to have Foxfi back with JB.
  5. recDNA
    Offline

    recDNA Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +6
    But after spending the 8 bucks vzw could block or update in a month so 8 bucks out the window.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk 2
  6. Knightrider03m
    Offline

    Knightrider03m Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have updated it and non of my computers will pick up on the wifi.
  7. jmanches
    Offline

    jmanches Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +6
    Mine works on JB
  8. waterweezel
    Offline

    waterweezel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Works for me with JB too
  9. RazrZen
    Offline

    RazrZen New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Works! :icon_ lala:DancingNexus
    However - because of "certificate" authorizations in the setup process, my initial screen now locks and I have to manually unlock my phone. I tried to turn it off in Settings/Security but no such luck. When I choose to disable I see that it says: "Disabled by administrator, encryption policy or credential storage"
  10. waterweezel
    Offline

    waterweezel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine is the same but I think that the screen lock must be on for foxfi to work. To shut off the screen lock I believe you have to go to settings, security and screen lock, clear credentials to remove the certificate
  11. RazrZen
    Offline

    RazrZen New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Whelp - I did some of that - deleted the "User" certificate (not "all" as there is a slider on upper screen under credentials). Re-started foxfi and walked me through another authentication. Noticed there was a message about choosing "pattern" for security instead of PIN. Oops. That's were I eff'd up. Anyway, it didn't change anything. Rebooted. Nothing. I think I might have to do a fresh install. UGH. Double UGH. more time more time more time...
  12. brobox
    Offline

    brobox Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +8
    I have used Foxfi for a year. Verizon @ $20. a month = $240. Foxfi @ $8. total = a net savings of $$232. A chance worth taking for me. I am already paying Verizon for the data, why should I pay again to use it?
    • Like Like x 2
  13. OleManDan
    Offline

    OleManDan New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Alabama
    Ratings:
    +2
    I would think of the Foxfi charge of $8.00 as an expense that's cheaper than eating out for one lunch.
    If it works for you... great.
    If it don't... your only out $8.

    (The price is equivalent to a burger,fries and malt at McDonalds.)

    Either way let us know the outcome.
    • Like Like x 2
  14. recDNA
    Offline

    recDNA Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +6
    It save nothing if it doesn't work. If I ordered a meal at McDonald's (God forbid!) and the power goes out I get my $ back even though a power outage isn't their fault. Spend 8 bucks for foxfi (used to be free full service) and vzw blocks it or it doesnt work I'm out 8 bucks! Since you can turn vzw wifi on and off a day a a time losing 8 bucks is no savings in my book. If foxfi gave 1 year. money back it works or else no excuses warranty THEN it would be a great deal.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk 2
  15. audinutt
    Offline

    audinutt Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Use the free version then, this is ludacris to whine about a $8 app that otherwise functions free. In fact use the free version if you are that cheap.
    If you want it completely free, root your phone and use wifi tether.

    Geez some people $8.00, really?

    Get over yourself.
    • Like Like x 1
Search tags for this page
droid razr maxx screen lock disabled by administrator
,
foxfi
,
foxfi credential storage
,
foxfi disable screen lock
,

foxfi lock screen

,
foxfi requires screen lock
,

foxfi screen lock

,
foxfi screen lock disabled
,

foxfi update

,
remove foxfi certificate