FoxFi Tethering Issue on ICS Rezound

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound' started by Xander Crews, Aug 5, 2012.

  1. Xander Crews

    Xander Crews Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Ratings:
    +26
    So I was looking forward to teh ICS update for my Rezound, which I finally got on Friday, so now I wanted to get Foxfi Wifi to work.
    I installed it and activated it just fine. Judging by the phone interface, everything looked like it was supposed to and it was apparently set up as a hotspot.

    But nothing can connect to it. I have a MacBook Pro and an iPad that won't connect (I thought Apple products "just worked"?? LOL!!)

    Anyway, the laptop and the iPad detect the Wifi network on the Rezound and attempt to connect, but can't. It just times out on both.

    Thoughts?
    Anyone else get FoxFi Wifi to work on an ICS Rezound?
     
  2. MJKneuro

    MJKneuro Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Va
    Ratings:
    +0
    Had the same problem on ics. Both on .10 and .12. Since the courts ruled against Verizon charging for WiFi apps last week, I figured they would be flooding us by now.
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2012
  3. HowardZ

    HowardZ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +3
    The free WiFi teather app works well, but requires root. in the settings, specify your phone as galaxy nexus LTE, and check the routing fix.
     
  4. gerrya

    gerrya Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use foxfi in bluetooth mode but was looking forward to using the wifi option with ICS. My tablet connects to the rezound but the tablet says obtaining ip address forever.
     
  5. grayson russell

    grayson russell Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    It works fine for me. I had data& 4g issues before the update. No issues at all since the update.
     
  6. gerrya

    gerrya Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You are using foxfi in wifi mode or bluetooth?
     
  7. grayson russell

    grayson russell Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    WiFi.
     
  8. Xander Crews

    Xander Crews Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Ratings:
    +26
    Did you do anything special?
    What is connecting to your Rezound wifi? Any glitches along the way?
     
  9. grayson russell

    grayson russell Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Had a friend in town yesterday & he has the nexus tablet. He was showing me how to do all this, so he connected his tablet to my phone. I don't use WiFi that much myself, but everything worked fine. He is much more tech savy than iam, but he ran it through the paces with no issues.
     
  10. grayson russell

    grayson russell Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    He turned on the foxfi app. on my phone & had his tablet connect. He didn't do anything special, I just called him & asked.
     
  11. pdxmottau

    pdxmottau New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No joy: Foxfi connecting Rezound to Kindle Fire

    I had the same hopes/disappointment trying to get Foxfi to connect to my wife's Fire. All looked good but it was unable to resolve an IP address. error showed up on Fire

    Might be time for root now.
     
  12. Snoking

    Snoking Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I give up and turned on VZW tether until this can be worked out. Works great. Cost money$%&#
     
Search tags for this page
does foxfi work with htc rezound
,
foxfi cannot obtain ip address
,
foxfi for htc rezound
,

foxfi htc rezound

,
foxfi htc rezound ics
,
foxfi on htc rezound
,
how to get foxfi to work on htc rezound
,
htc rezound foxfi
,
ipad won't connect to foxfi
,
rezound foxfi