FoxFi NOT working with Droid Razr M

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by Superlete, Dec 10, 2012.

  1. Superlete

    Superlete New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey group! I had a droidX and the foxfi was awesome...i updated to a droid razr M, and I don;t think I Have used foxfi since I switched phone and it doesn't work!! Gives me an error message about wifi mode does not work with android 4.1 or higher...try blue tooth mode or download pdanet app, etc...but I KNOW it works on Androids with 4.1 or higher. I have tried removing the app and reinstalling it...even paid the $7 for the full version AND downloaded the foxfi add on...still get the same error message! I need help!
     
  2. Miller6386

    Miller6386 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    100
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Beer Tent Capital of The World
    Ratings:
    +101
    FoxFi doesn't work with JB yet..... The only way I am aware of to get tether to work is by rooting and WiFi Tether for Root users...... I believe it even says in the description in the Play Store that it does not yet work with JB.. Unless something has changed in the last few days..
     
  3. smalltowngirl13

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,734
    Likes Received:
    492
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ratings:
    +499
    Current Phone Model:
    Xperia Z3v
    Twitter:
    smalltownlife13
    Hello and welcome to the forum!
     
  4. jscuzz

    jscuzz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    After receiving the message that FoxFi wouldn't work on my Razr M after the JB push today it started showing it is connected again but also gives me the Verizon message that my account hasn't been activated.

    It says it is working and shows a small data DL but I do not see a hotspot on my computer list.

    Has anyone else tried it today?
     
  5. yalerider

    yalerider New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No luck with getting it to work on the HTC DNA yet. Same thing, call Verizon to subscribe, cancel that, then it looks like it's working but doesn't come up...
     
  6. jscuzz

    jscuzz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It seems the message from Foxfi that it is not compatible with 4.1 is gone and replaced with the Verizon subscription message but still not working. I hope this means they are working on it and are showing some progress.
     
  7. Superlete

    Superlete New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got the same thing now...just as you stated. I just wonder if our days of FREE hot spot are gone!
     
  8. jscuzz

    jscuzz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My goal with the M was to stay unrooted so I'll give em a bit longer before I start messing with it. Maybe it will be a nice Christmas present.
     
  9. JSM9872

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Welcome to Droid Forums!! :)
     
  10. SFGate

    SFGate Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Welcome to the site. DancingNexus
     
  11. jscuzz

    jscuzz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks everyone. I have been paying Verizon for a hotspot hoping June Fabrics would work something out but maybe it is time for me to root and go to wifi tether.
     
  12. yalerider

    yalerider New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its looks like foxfi has teamed up with pdanet and might of made a tethered hotspot. Has anyone made it work? Still couldn't get the WiFi tether to work...
     
  13. jdog7131

    jdog7131 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have a droid razr m and i really wanted foxfi or the new pdanet to work but i couldnt figure out how to get it to work without rooting my phone as well. well instead i remember it working on the old operating system it had before jelly bean which was ice cream sandwich. i fastbooted it back to ics so i can have foxfi work again and so im not rooted. my battery is 2x better on ics than on jb and foxfi is working and i have no problems at all. its the best way without being rooted. only bad part is that you lose all your apps and pictures and stuff unless you save them on the sd card
     
Search tags for this page
does foxfi work on droid razr m
,
does foxfi work with droid razr m
,
droid razr m and foxfi
,

droid razr m foxfi

,

foxfi droid razr m

,
foxfi for razr m
,

foxfi razr m

,
motorola razr mini and fox fi
,
my foxfi stop working on my verizon razr m
,
why wont fox fi work on my droid m