FoxFi Is Not Working On The Galaxy S7 After Nougat Update

Discussion in 'Android News' started by DroidModderX, Nov 27, 2016.

  1. DroidModderX

    DroidModderX Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,692
    Likes Received:
    2,116
    Trophy Points:
    478
    Ratings:
    +2,235
    [​IMG]

    I was recently able to update my Galaxy S7 Edge to the Beta build of Nougat. There have been plenty of nice changes in this update including better battery life with Doze On The Go, Split Screen, and other features. I just tried to use FoxFi and it appears that Nougat has killed the app. For those of you unfamiliar FoxFi is an app used for wifi tethering. It is useful for someone like me who has unlimited data. I am able to utilize my unlimited data while on the go (road trip, at work, ect). This may just be because FoxFi has not been able to update their app for the new Nougat. I am hoping that an update will come soon, but for now FoxFi reports that it won't work over wifi and you will need to use USB or Bluetooth instead.
     
  2. billjohnson

    billjohnson Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Somewhere, IL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dang. What other major issues are you having? I have problems with disconnecting networks.
     
  3. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,080
    Likes Received:
    1,508
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,672
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    I'm sure they'll get around to fixing it quick.

    Works on my Pixel so a fix should be up in no time
     
  4. Mustang02

    Mustang02 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7,624
    Likes Received:
    5,114
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6,072
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P/5X
    Do you even need foxfi with a pixel?

    Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk
     
  5. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,080
    Likes Received:
    1,508
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,672
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    Well I use USB mode, and did with my s7 edge.

    If I'm working at a coffee shop or something then I use FoxFi. Don't trust public networks...

    Pretty sure I could hotspot, but I paid for FoxFi so might as well just stick with it
     
  6. Mustang02

    Mustang02 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7,624
    Likes Received:
    5,114
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6,072
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P/5X
    Google provides VPN for Nexus/pixel devices when you are on open wifi. The same vpn it uses for project Fi.
     
  7. IIGood

    IIGood Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    256
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Arnold, MD
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy S6
    ...or any other phone made in the past 2 years?? I just assumed tethering/hotspot was built in to all devices now.
     
  8. cr6

    cr6 Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    8,371
    Likes Received:
    5,883
    Trophy Points:
    1,778
    Location:
    NW Rocky Mtn region
    Ratings:
    +6,714
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy S7 Edge
    Twitter:
    @dronewolfmedia
    depends on what plan you have.

    S5 tap'n
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. Mustang02

    Mustang02 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7,624
    Likes Received:
    5,114
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6,072
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P/5X
    The application is but if you have an unlimited data plan it won't work on most phones. Some still do a provisioning check, like the 5x. My 6P doesn't check.
     
  10. Valvoline

    Valvoline Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +54
    Little bit misleading headline lol. It IS working, but not sending WIFI signal? But it will work over bluetooth? i'm guessing/hoping a fix will follow shortly. Also, this is just nougat beta right?
     
  11. Grendel41p

    Grendel41p New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung S6 Edge
    Got a security update... Able to activate foxfi hotspot by just turning on hotspot from settings and it starts foxfi... Who would have thunk :)
     
  12. xeene

    xeene Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3,110
    Likes Received:
    909
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    usa
    Ratings:
    +1,047
    Doesn't every service provider now include hotspot free of charge?
     
Search tags for this page
foxfi and nougat
,
foxfi hotspot for android
,
foxfi hotspot work around samsung galaxy s8
,
foxfi nougat
,
foxfi nougat fix
,

foxfi nougat workaround

,
foxfi on nougat
,
foxfi stopped working with new update 2017
,

nougat foxfi

,
will foxfi work on nougat