1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Found cool new trick on 2.1

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Sooks, Dec 24, 2009.

  1. Sooks
    Offline

    Sooks New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dont know if this has been discovered yet , if it has forgive me , i searched couldnt find it , but if you long press on the dots at the bottom it gives u a card view of the screens you have kind of like the pre, its pretty cool

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2009
  2. frankieg22x
    Offline

    frankieg22x New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    home++ has an icon for it at the bottom. Pretty handy if you have 3+ screens.

    nice find
  3. Steeeler
    Offline

    Steeeler New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nice find! I like it.
  4. DogPaw
    Offline

    DogPaw New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How do you do it on Home++ ?
  5. BavarianBuilt
    Offline

    BavarianBuilt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Press and hold the Home button, I believe.
  6. DogPaw
    Offline

    DogPaw New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    when I long press the home button using Home++ it gives me a small box with the last 6 apps I ran. This is pretty cool but still not what I was looking for.
  7. crimattyple
    Offline

    crimattyple Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Holden, MA
    Automatic Applications Sync

    I read that by unchecking this by going to Settings-Account Sync, it will save battery life. What does having it checked actually do? Above that is Background data and that is checked. What's the difference?
  8. Droid_Junky
    Offline

    Droid_Junky New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In Home ++ you have to go into settings for the strip and add the icon for the cards.

    Can't wait for 2.1!
  9. phatkat66
    Offline

    phatkat66 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For home++ you press and hold the MENU button not the HOME button
  10. DogPaw
    Offline

    DogPaw New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Still nothing on the Droid if I hold down menu nothing happens until I release and then I get get the regular menu. On the power strip if I hold down the menu I get running services....
  11. imiller913
    Offline

    imiller913 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Evern if you dont have 2.1 you can do it by press and hold the menu button and with will bring up screen switcher, I found it out by mistake
  12. phatkat66
    Offline

    phatkat66 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you updated your home++ app?
  13. imiller913
    Offline

    imiller913 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think you have to be using home++ for it to happen
  14. Droid_Junky
    Offline

    Droid_Junky New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    While on your Home screen press menu>preferences>power strip preferences> button preferences and then select screen switcher. It will add a icon to the strip on your home screen.

    The other way is to long press on an empty spot of your screen and there is a new option for screens.
  15. thebowers
    Offline

    thebowers Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    I noticed that I had to get rid of a couple of buttons at the bottom before the screen switcher button would show up.
  16. sethmo
    Offline

    sethmo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    With Home++ and 2.0.1, when I press and hold the Menu button, it says "Starting screen switcher", then the screens show up in the center of the screen.
  17. LifeIsABeach
    Offline

    LifeIsABeach New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Up to five screen in 2.1? Cool. Too chicken to root and try it now.
  18. racklefratz
    Offline

    racklefratz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After spending more time than I wanted to trying to figure out how the OP got Android v2.1 already, I finally concluded that myself.

    Would have been a nice touch if the OP said something about "home++" in the thread title.
  19. Royal2000H
    Offline

    Royal2000H New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Android 2.1 has it.
    Home++ also has it.

    2 separate things....
  20. overtsilence
    Offline

    overtsilence New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TN
    I think it appears there's some confusion about the accessing the recent programs switcher. You don't need home++ or 2.1, all you need to do is long press the home button and it'll pop up a box with your last six active applications.