Found a 1700mAh Battery for Thunderbolt

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Accessories' started by Pizza33, Apr 1, 2011.

  1. badmeat
    Offline

    badmeat New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So is it coincidence that this same app grossly under reads my Galaxy Tab?

    If the app read my tab's battery at 4000mah, which is the spec on it, I could see weight in your argument.....but its not even close.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  2. GSXRADDICT
    Offline

    GSXRADDICT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    On the upside I didn't charge my phone all night or all day and I'm at 40 so maybe there is nothing really to complain about lol

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
  3. dlwhtrose
    Offline

    dlwhtrose DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    I can't tell you a better test but what I can tell you is that both the batteries that are sold in this deal are clearly marked 1500 mAh. The red one says replacement for the thunderbolt and the black one says for the Merge. I gave complained to the company and amazon both of which have not acknowledged me.

    I would stay away from these batteries as they are not what is being advertised. Not to mention I could not even get 6 hours out of either one of them. I have gone back to my stock battery and am enjoying better battery life.

    Sent via a bolt of lightening .....
  4. GSXRADDICT
    Offline

    GSXRADDICT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine says 1700 on it this is a picture I sent them last night.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk

    Edit: wow I guess you cant really see anything lol
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2011
  5. dlwhtrose
    Offline

    dlwhtrose DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,790
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Wow glad yours is marked 1700. Mine are not. They are marked 1500 mAh. I could not even get six hours of light use out of them. Been back on stock battery with heavy use the last 6 hours and I am still at 78% I just want my money back at this point. I think they are falsely advertising these.

    Sent via a bolt of lightening .....
  6. badmeat
    Offline

    badmeat New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    One thing that I noticed is that in the battery widget settings under "monitoring preferences", theres an option that says "enter your real battery capacity" as if it defaults to something depending on what device its on.

    Sent from my SCH-I800 using DroidForums
  7. GSXRADDICT
    Offline

    GSXRADDICT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah I changed it to 1700 but Hell I could set it at 2750 doesn't change what battery is actually in it. Just doesn't seem accurate at all plus the time to empty was way off also even at 1350.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
  8. dafischman
    Offline

    dafischman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was doing some searching over at xda-forums to try and figure out how it knows the size of the battery. I don't know anything about this program directly, but it seems the battery itself should have a chip that notifys the phone of it's capacity as well as things like battery temp. It seems some cheap Chinese ones bought off ebay were falsifying information on the chips causing different issues. Not saying these are anything like those, just something I read.

    As far as Seido and any other not OEM batteries, I'm highly skeptical. However, if you are happy with your battery output, that is what truly matters. It would be great if we had the ability to accurately measure the capacity so people weren't taken advantage of though. I know I would be mad if I paid for a larger capacity battery and got a rebadged stock or worse one.

    Josh
  9. GSXRADDICT
    Offline

    GSXRADDICT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh I am mad trust me however I don't know what these are actually. But they are willing to send me another one so far they have been good at trying to satisfy me on this issue. They waste no time emailing me back.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
  10. lippstuh
    Offline

    lippstuh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i've been telling other people on other forums to NOT purchase these batteries.

    the're chinese knock offs and they're just the same crap sold on ebay. so if you want cheap spares, go on ebay and pay a lot less for the same stuff.

    they were first advertised as 1500mAh then they changed it to 1700. All they need to do is print a new sticker with 1700mAh on it and advertise it was that. if you look at the people's feedback toward the company its pretty much crap.

    stop supporting false advertisement, at least support the ebay sellers who are more honest about the stuff they sell. it'll save you a lot of money too.

    i personally opted for an OEM battery from overstock.com $20 shipped isn't a bad deal.
  11. xeene
    Offline

    xeene Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    184
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    usa
    +1, do not buy anything but OEM batteries. even companies like seidio scam people out of money with their fake batteries.
  12. GSXRADDICT
    Offline

    GSXRADDICT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    30 hours on these batteries and still have enough to come on here and tell you all about it.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
  13. Pizza33
    Offline

    Pizza33 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Nice, I just ordered mine yesterday.
  14. GSXRADDICT
    Offline

    GSXRADDICT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    At this point I am just gonna keep then they are out lasting my stock battery which with light use only got about 27 hours very light use this I actually used it as normal so I am satisfied.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
  15. GSXRADDICT
    Offline

    GSXRADDICT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    30 hours and still 32% yeah these are good. Seems hit or miss guess I'm just a lucky one.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
  16. iRenegade
    Offline

    iRenegade Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I'm not getting as long as GSXR, but definitely longer than stock. I haven't seen any other reports about the battery monitor widget, last I've checked, it lists the same capacity for the stock 1400 and these "1700 HTC MyTouch4G/Merge" batteries at 1350. Whether that is accurate or not, I can't say.
    Charger works great (both usb and battery insert), the batteries work fine and the price is right. I'll post an update if I encounter any changes to what's already been written by me!
  17. GSXRADDICT
    Offline

    GSXRADDICT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm 3g only though.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
  18. iRenegade
    Offline

    iRenegade Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ahhhh! There's the difference! Thanks for clarifying! My 4G is terrible at work, mostly 2 bars, and I keep forgetting to put the radio to 3G only! I stopped switching wifi on and off, I find that there's little difference in battery use. It automatically switches to 3/4G when there's no wifi signal, I'm not sure how often it searches for wifi though.
  19. GSXRADDICT
    Offline

    GSXRADDICT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I take it you're not rooted you could alter how often it scans if you keep it to never sleep it will be more efficient.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
  20. iRenegade
    Offline

    iRenegade Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Yup, holding off on rooting to see what the update takes care of. I see some folks already picked up the leak. I would only root at this point to extend battery life, and I see the jury is still out on how big the difference is.
Search tags for this page
1700mah thunderbolt battery review
,
1700mah battery thunderbolt
,
1700mah slim extended battery for htc thunderbolt
,
droid thunderbolt 1700 battery
,
htc thunderbolt 1700mah battery
,

htc thunderbolt 1700mah battery review

,
htc thunderbolt 1700mah extended battery
,
htc thunderbolt replacement battery
,
replacement thunderbolt battery reviews
,
thunderbolt forums 1700 mah batteries china
,
thunderbolt htc 1700mah battery charge
,
thunderbolt replacement battery