Former ALLTEL Customers will NEVER get GPS until they change to a VERIZON phone #

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by spalding12, Nov 22, 2009.

  1. spalding12
    Offline

    spalding12 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah....
    that's what a tech for verizon just told me
    when Alltel broke up, they had to promise to give their phone numbers BACK to the LANDLINE folks by 2011...
    so, until i change to a verizon phone number, i'll NEVER get GPS capability
    is this even remotely possible?

    i've had my number for 15 years....
    i'm a physician
    i am not giving it up...
    will i really have to?

    help..... please
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2009
  2. bigpiper223
    Offline

    bigpiper223 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wrong. I just switched from alltel to verizon and i kept my number.
     
  3. spalding12
    Offline

    spalding12 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes....
    you CAN do that
    but....
    they say your current number... which you brought from ALLTEL
    must be SURRENDERED by the end of 2010
    yeah...
    i don't believe it, either
    but.... that's what the guy said from VERIZON TECH
    no kidding
     
  4. Droider
    Offline

    Droider Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    there's lots of reports online of people having trouble porting Alltel numbers to Verizon. In some cases it may be due to Verizon having to agree to divest itself of Alltel assets in some markets which might include the phone numbers themselves. I read some stuff about how if you had ported your number to another service earlier you could have kept it but it all seems very confused and people complain about not being able to get a straight, consistent answer.
     
  5. spalding12
    Offline

    spalding12 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah....
    i wish i could get the same answer twice, as well
    the main thing....
    i'm not giving up my number
    i cannot
    it's ridiculous to assume anyone would
    if it's true....
    and the words gets out to the community.... there will be some uproar and i'm sure it'll be rectified if enough folks complain
    time will tell
     
  6. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    If it's true about VZW having to give up all the Alltell numbers.

    You Will lose your number. It's that simple.
     
  7. spalding12
    Offline

    spalding12 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    If it's true about VZW having to give up all the Alltell numbers.

    You Will lose your number. It's that simple.[/QUOTE]

    1. how do YOU know that?
    2. how could that be possible?
     
  8. Erich_F
    Offline

    Erich_F Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Odessa, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hah, my VZW tech didn't know the Droid has WiFi...

    Just suffice to say, Verizon techs and salesfolk are just now getting their Droids. Most of us know more about the Droid than they do.

    Erich
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2009
  9. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,250
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +6
    1. how do YOU know that?
    2. how could that be possible?[/QUOTE]


    Droider said it....
     
  10. Lafond
    Offline

    Lafond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Never heard of that before. My number was ported from Nextel to Alltel and now to Verizon. You should be able to keep your number on any network, no matter what.
     
  11. Narsil
    Offline

    Narsil Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    146
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Central Florida
    Ratings:
    +152
    I find it nearly impossible to believe that my previous Alltel number has anything to do with my GPS problems when I can drive an hour north of Tampa (Leesburg, FL) for business and my GPS works flawlessly for the entire week but on the way home, my GPS dies an hour north of Tampa and hasn't worked since.

    It has something (if not everything) to do with location.
     
  12. Tekmazter
    Offline

    Tekmazter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I read another lengthy thread about this on either andoridforums.com or motorola.com. The majority of people talking about GPS issues were all in Florida and prior Alltell customers. Several of them switched their numbers over and PRESTO their GPS worked just fine.

    I'm not saying that what you were told is 100% accurate, but if you hunt around you'll see that it's been confirmed in other threads that this in fact does work.
     
  13. crankygypsy
    Offline

    crankygypsy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Tampa
    Ratings:
    +0
    just to add another Altell/Tampa Bay Area example:

    i'm an Alltel refugee in Tampa. bought the Droid on Oct 10.
    GPS worked a few hours over the third and fourth day when i was on the Howard-Franklin bridge. has refused to link ever since.

    i have two friends (married couple) with Droids who live in Clearwater. they have been Verizon for years. both have perfectly good GPS. he is telling me to take it back and get a new one. i'm going to wait to see what happens since everyone else who takes it back, ends up with it going down again. swapping phones is not worth the hassle until this is sorted out.
     
  14. spalding12
    Offline

    spalding12 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    i just called my business rep
    without changing my phone number, he's going to see how the verizon tower "SEES" my ex-alltel phone
    he'll try to switch it to verizon, keeping the same number
    i'll let you know what happens
    i doubt it'll happen today
     
  15. spalding12
    Offline

    spalding12 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    oh....
    and mine never worked on the howard frankland
     
Search tags for this page

alltel does mifi come with gps

,
how to make alltel razr maxx work on verizon