Force Close loop on Google Gestures - how can I determine what's causing it?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by bloodstains, Mar 31, 2010.

  1. bloodstains
    Offline

    bloodstains New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I LOVED Google Gestures. Greatest thing on my phone, but now I can't get it to open anymore. Every time I open it force closes before it can even index my data sources. Is there anything I can possibly experiment with to get this to work?

    a little background info:

    First installed Google Gestures while running Ultimate Droid 7.5 or 7.8. It ran PERFECTLY. No Force Closes at all. I switched to 8.1 and suddenly got stuck in the force close loop. Naturally, I blamed it on Ultimate Droid. Naturally, he blamed it on me not wiping my data before installing. I decided I would wipe everything/factory reset for his next big release.

    Ultimate Droid 9.0 comes out today and I factory wipe everything and Google Gestures WORKS! I'm thrilled. Then I start loading my other stuff on and suddenly Google Gestures is broken again, which leads me to believe it's something I'm doing - but what?
  2. bloodstains
    Offline

    bloodstains New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just noticed - maybe this should be moved to tech issues and bug reports? Not really sure the correct forum for this.
  3. bloodstains
    Offline

    bloodstains New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just installed Log Collector and it gives me a log of everything that happened, if that would be of any assistance. It's pretty long and I don't understand much of it, so I'm hesitant to post it here, but here's a small example:

    03-31 01:18:21.373 I/ActivityManager( 1033): Start proc com.google.android.apps.gesturesearch for activity com.google.android.apps.gesturesearch/.GShell: pid=4936 uid=10150 gids={3003}
    03-31 01:18:21.756 I/ActivityThread( 4936): Publishing provider com.google.android.apps.gesturesearch.history: com.google.android.apps.gesturesearch.data.QueryHistoryProvider
    03-31 01:18:21.811 I/ActivityThread( 4936): Publishing provider com.google.android.apps.gesturesearch.index: com.google.android.apps.gesturesearch.data.IndexProvider
    03-31 01:18:22.670 D/dalvikvm( 4936): GC freed 2135 objects / 177984 bytes in 49ms
    03-31 01:18:22.865 I/ActivityManager( 1033): Displayed activity com.google.android.apps.gesturesearch/.GShell: 1494 ms (total 1494 ms)
    03-31 01:18:23.115 E/ActivityThread( 4936): Failed to find provider info for browser
    03-31 01:18:23.115 W/dalvikvm( 4936): threadid=15: thread exiting with uncaught exception (group=0x4001b190)
    03-31 01:18:23.115 E/AndroidRuntime( 4936): Uncaught handler: thread AsyncTask #1 exiting due to uncaught exception
    03-31 01:18:23.123 E/AndroidRuntime( 4936): java.lang.RuntimeException: An error occured while executing doInBackground()
    03-31 01:18:23.123 E/AndroidRuntime( 4936): at android.os.AsyncTask$3.done(AsyncTask.java:200)
    03-31 01:18:23.123 E/AndroidRuntime( 4936): at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask$Sync.innerSetException(FutureTask.java:273)
  4. bloodstains
    Offline

    bloodstains New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    "Failed to find provider info for browser" just caught my eye - do you think this might be related to me doing the -rmbrowser script to get rid of the default browser??? Is there a way to load that back on, short of completely wiping everything and starting over??
  5. Corinacakes
    Offline

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,031
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    you need to fix the permission in rom manager :D
  6. bloodstains
    Offline

    bloodstains New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did that and it didn't work - BUT! I ended up solving my problem. My, um, 4th post in a row where I guessed it had something to do with the browser ended up being correct. Google Gestures needs the native browser to run. I reflashed UltimateDroid 9.0 and left the native browser in there and now Google Gestures is back to workin like a champ!
  7. Psychokitty
    Offline

    Psychokitty New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I LOVE this forum!
    I just spent two days combing through my Droid trying to chase down what the problem with my GS app was.

    Thanks a million!
Search tags for this page

gesture search force close

,

google gesture search force close

,
google gesture search forces close