force close across multiple apps

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by kellyscuba, Dec 2, 2011.

  1. kellyscuba
    Offline

    kellyscuba New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Droid 2 Global and all of a sudden Tuesday night I started experiencing force close issues. At first I thought the problem was only in Handscent the app I use for text messaging. It would let me type a few characters and then stall and eventually give me a force close or wait option. I tried powering off and then a battery pull but neither helped. Then I tried using the default text messaging program and the exact same thing happened. I found that if I sent a very short message like "test" it would help for a little while and let me send some messages. Then the problem would start all over again. Since then, the same thing has happened in my yahoo IM app, my checklist app, and when I try to email.

    I haven't downloaded anything new recently and I have no idea what the problem is. Any help would be much appreciated!
     
  2. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11,046
    Likes Received:
    744
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +756
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy s4
    have you tried clearing the cache of these apps?

    Kind of weird how it just happened to more than one app
     
  3. Nemo Aeternamn
    Offline

    Nemo Aeternamn Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mo-ab
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hmm... Maybe try clearing the cache partition in recovery... I know that can help problems like this

    We have nothing to fear but running out of beer
     
  4. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11,046
    Likes Received:
    744
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +756
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy s4
    +1

    Was just about to recommend this, but was beat to it:D
     
  5. rck76
    Offline

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    You know, I had a feeling that's what you wanted to recommend, lol. ESP?:p

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  6. Nemo Aeternamn
    Offline

    Nemo Aeternamn Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mo-ab
    Ratings:
    +13
    Well... It's just so helpful with an os like this : D

    We have nothing to fear but running out of beer
     
  7. kellyscuba
    Offline

    kellyscuba New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you. I appreciate the suggestion! Now can anyone tell me exactly how I would go about clearing the cache partition in recovery?
     
  8. rck76
    Offline

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    Power down your phone, then hold x and power, that should take you into recovery, there should be a triangle with an exclamation point or something similar. Touch your search button and that should bring up several options. Use volume down to get to your cache partition menu, then camera button to select.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  9. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11,046
    Likes Received:
    744
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +756
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy s4
    Not supposed to brag about my abilities:D
     
  10. rck76
    Offline

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    Haha, lol:p. Am I right in how to get into stock recovery on the d2g? Thought I would help out after posting in the thread:)

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  11. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11,046
    Likes Received:
    744
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +756
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy s4
    Found this with a little help from google and xda

    1. Turn Droid 2 Off
    2. Press 'X' on the physical keyboard and then Press and HOLD Power button until the Exclamation Point/Android picture shows(after motorola symbol).
    3. To access menu options Press the "Search" button depicted by the Magnifying glass on the Keyboard and the menu items will show up.
    4. Browse options with the Volume Up and Volume Down keys and select option with the Camera button all on side.
    5. Select first option of "Reboot phone" or risk messing up your brand new Droid 2!

    So yup, you are right rck
     
  12. rck76
    Offline

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    Cool:biggrin:

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  13. kellyscuba
    Offline

    kellyscuba New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can get into the recovery screen using the X and power button, but it gets stuck after that. Pressing the search button or anything else does nothing. It still stays on the droid robot and triangle image. Any suggestions?
     
  14. rck76
    Offline

    rck76 DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    6,836
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +38
    Did you try the search button on the keyboard?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  15. kellyscuba
    Offline

    kellyscuba New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, I did. When that didn't work I tried holding it for a few seconds. Absolutely no response either last night when I first tried or again tonight :-(
     
Search tags for this page
all android apps force close
,

all apps force close android

,
all my android apps are force closing
,
android apps force closing
,

apps force closing on android

,
droid 2 force close
,
droid 2 keeps force closing
,
droid bionic force close issues
,
droid x2 all apps force close
,
multiple apps force closing