For those of you using Handcent

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Incredible' started by David526, Oct 12, 2010.

  1. David526
    Offline

    David526 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there a way to "send" a message while in landscape mode? When I turn the phone to type in landscape, there doesn't seem to be a way to send the message without returning the phone to portrait mode first.

    If there is a way, would someone please let me know?
     
  2. dbu
    Offline

    dbu Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you go into the settings hit send message settings then hit shortcut key to send you can configure it to send when you hit enter.
    Sent from my Incredible
     
  3. drtnsnw
    Offline

    drtnsnw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    or if you swipe your finger down the keyboard it should disapear

    chris
     
  4. David526
    Offline

    David526 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you! Just what I was looking for!
     
  5. lazerdude
    Offline

    lazerdude New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    quick question...I downloaded handcent...love the look etc. but how do I disable the stock messaging? I have alread followed the instruction give it does not work...I have disabled all notifications, etc. on the stock msg...
    currently I have uninstalled handcent but would use it again if I could get a fix for the duplicates in the stock msg app.

    fyi...dinc; stock 2.2; no other problems with the phone like some others have on this forum...

    any ideas?
     
  6. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,457
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +92
    Some people might say you are not doing something right but I have heard of a few instances where double notifications were impossible to get around (even with notifications turned off in the stock app) the cases that came up before were on Original Droid's and the solution was not to use Handcent
     
  7. lazerdude
    Offline

    lazerdude New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    not using handcent is about the best thing I guess...
    I appreciate you not trying to explain how to fix it...I have done it all...I have done everything the handcent app says to do as well as what others said to do ...nothing seems to work...
    thanks again.
     
  8. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,457
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +92
    Out of curiousity...does it yeild the same results with Chomp SMS ?
     
  9. lazerdude
    Offline

    lazerdude New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    have not tried chomp... it looked like it had more complaints than handcent
     
  10. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,457
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +92
    I am just wondering if it is a Handcent issue or if it does this with all third party messaging applications which would put the problem in your device
     
  11. lazerdude
    Offline

    lazerdude New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    it seems I've read a lot about folks already having that issue with chomp, too. So not sure it would be my device even if I had it.

    do you use either one?
     
  12. mountainbikermark
    Offline

    mountainbikermark DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,697
    Likes Received:
    758
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Ratings:
    +775
    For those getting double notification tones, set handcent notification tone to silent, leave main menu notification to what it was

    wified from my monolith using a slider keypad
     
  13. bswnyca
    Offline

    bswnyca New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    really like handcent but get double the text messages - one from the reg. app and one from handcent. Is that the price I have to pay to use handcent and it is using twice the memory?
    thanks
     
  14. awwpickle
    Offline

    awwpickle Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Montana
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can go into the stock messaging app then go down to notification settings and then uncheck receive notifixations box. Then you will just get the handcent notifications.

    I'm sure there is a way to delete your stock messaging app if your really worried about space.... but id make sure you have a back up!!!!




    Sent from my Moto Droid using DroidForums App
     
  15. alwerner
    Offline

    alwerner Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have Handcent working on the DROID without problem. A few notes:

    You have to turn off stock messager notifications.
    You can't get rid of the MMS.APK because Handcent and ChompSMS both use the core functionality.
     
Search tags for this page
handcent how to send from landscape
,
is there a way to speed up handcent
,
speed message on handcent
,

speed up handcent

,
when did handcent get rid of the privacy box