For the love of the gods someone find a way to kill the bloatware.

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by Arachnidus, Aug 13, 2010.

  1. Arachnidus
    Offline

    Arachnidus Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's so frustrating to have all this crap on my phone. BLUR is bad enough, but I feel like the D2 is anchored down. Anybody know of any way to get rid of the bloatware before we get rooting down?
     
  2. brochaos
    Offline

    brochaos Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    at the least, you can install launcherpro and hide any icons you don't want to see in the app launcher...
     
  3. Arachnidus
    Offline

    Arachnidus Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did. It's all the crap that Motoblur uses, pretty much all the default bloatware apps interfere with the main system apps in someway...at least, so far.
     
  4. ilikemoneygreen
    Offline

    ilikemoneygreen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    AZ, Superstition MTNs!
    Ratings:
    +15
    Give it a week or two.... Im not sure if someone will root the D2 as quick as the x but i can say it will happen eventually. When rooted youll be able to remove anything you desire. (not sure about blur though....i dont know if thats an app. Im sure if you knew what to delete youd be able to remove it though.
     
  5. mjones1052
    Offline

    mjones1052 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +0
    Blur can't just be deleted. It is thoroughly ingrained in the system and deleting any of the Blur pieces can brick your phone, as this has happened already. Sucks that it's almost identical to the Droid X, yet we can't root it. Seems Motorola patched the exploid hack with their Froyo, and as far as I know Froyo has been a ***** to root.
     
  6. *22899
    Offline

    *22899 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +5
    Someone will root it. The wait is what makes it fun.
     
  7. droidism
    Offline

    droidism Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    connecticut
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can rid the bloatware with appbrain...you can not remove blur though. Its tied into the software. Goto appbrain and goto manage apps. This will give you the option to delete them.
    Hope this helps

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
     
  8. aminaked
    Offline

    aminaked Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    California, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    You have to be rooted to remove/rename stuff that came with the phone.
     
  9. spdivr1122
    Offline

    spdivr1122 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bloomsburg, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    i honestly like the way the software looks (of course i downloaded launcherpro though) i just want the d2 to be rooted so i can use wifi tether for free. no way am i paying 20 bucks for that
     
  10. cdipier2
    Offline

    cdipier2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    i would love to get rid of city id, skype and im sure theres a few more that i have no use for. all this extra crap makes it not much faster then my D1
     
  11. Gibbsinator
    Offline

    Gibbsinator Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Amazon MP3, Kindle, CityID, Skype, etc. Will all be out the door when I get my D2 rooted as well. Can't wait.

    PDAnet, it's free, and you can USB tether or use bluetooth, also you can text from your PC.

    Also, Easytether is an option, but it doesn't support 64bit.
     
  12. djice
    Offline

    djice New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea there are a few "FREE" apps in the android market that allow tethering for free.. just have to search.
     
  13. guyinlaca
    Offline

    guyinlaca Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    LauncherPro is a great app. It disables the Blur homescreen and makes everything run faster.

    Things I love about Launcher Pro:

    -Dock screen that lets you choose shortcuts to any 5 apps from the main screen. Also allows the Droid 1 multiple homescreen preview and toggle buttons.

    -Can choose custom icons which appear in the dock

    -Can choose what color the highlights appear when you press a button, no more red:)

    -Allows you to hide icons to apps you don't use, so your app drawer is less cluttered.

    **By the way, make note of how your homescreen was BEFORE installing LauncherPro, as you will need to reapply all the shortcuts and widgets to your homescreens.

    This app is a must have for Droid 2 users.
     
  14. Arachnidus
    Offline

    Arachnidus Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    As much as I appreciate it, yes, we know. This isn't about Blur, it's about the clutterware in general. It makes no difference whether it's hidden or not, it's still there.
     
  15. lostmonster
    Offline

    lostmonster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree with the general air of this thread. Too much stupid crapware on this excellent machine.

    Personally tired of being tied down by corporate coding.

    MY current situation deals with a problem with a solution that you'd think would be so simple, yet it's still prevented because of corporate coding.

    Currently, for whatever reason, Skype isn't the correct icon. It looks like a tech icon. It's the computer monitor with a gear. Also, skype's name isn't "skype," instead, it's "com.skype.android.verizon" and it's pissing me off.
     
Search tags for this page

android remove junkware

,
content
,
kill bloatware3
,
kill moto x bloat
,
killing bloatware
,
skype mobile bloatware