For the love of Cyanogenmod, help me!!

Discussion in 'Cyanogenmod - D2' started by Probedroid, Jul 5, 2011.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. Probedroid
    Offline

    Probedroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh boy, I got a good one. I will try to explain:

    I attempted to go from Liberty GB 0.8 to CM7. I wiped everything and then I tried to use an all in one installer from a different forum. The installer was to sbf me to stock, then install CM7. But all I ended up with was the Liberty screaming eagle going round and round. So I attempted to SBF back to stock using the RSDlite (I have done this once before with no issues). RSDlite says my phone is connected, but gives me an NA for a name. I have read elsewhere that you can still continue. So I did. It appears to function as it should, but when it comes time for RSDlite to reboot the phone, the phone shuts down, then reboots......back to the liberty eagle. So I stuck...

    Someone please help me! I need my D2 back!!
  2. joeshell20
    Offline

    joeshell20 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Get into stock recovery and wipe cache. If that doesn't get you able to boot, do a factory reset and wipe cache. If not, plug in your phone to your PC powered off and then power it on. Your phone should come up in bootloader mode. Then you can try to sbf again.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  3. joeshell20
    Offline

    joeshell20 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You didn't have to sbf to come from liberty v.8. If you downloaded the all in one monster from tbh. You just have to format the system, data, cache like the instructions say, mount the system. Flash cm7, boot the phone. Go back and wipe cache, then flash the cm7 again. Then flash gapps.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  4. joeshell20
    Offline

    joeshell20 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also, if you can't get your phone to activate, a reboot should get it to work.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  5. Probedroid
    Offline

    Probedroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did do the monster from tbh. But all I got was a liberty bootloop. That is when I tried to sbf. But still got the bootloop. I did try to do a factory reset, but I got an error, says its missing recovery something or another. I suppose I can do a stock recovery and try to flash cm7 again. And follow your instructions about wiping and flashing again... Thanks Joeshell20!
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2011
  6. joeshell20
    Offline

    joeshell20 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anytime you flash a rom it usually tells you to wipe cache and data reset. You should make sure you always fully understand the steps involved and follow them to the letter. Not harping, just friendly advice from experience.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  7. joeshell20
    Offline

    joeshell20 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have tried those flashable sbf......never had good luck with them. As I mentioned, wipe cache after you sbf and do a factory reset.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  8. Probedroid
    Offline

    Probedroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    And I accept your friendly advice. Thank you. Hopefully I can just get out of this mess.......
  9. joeshell20
    Offline

    joeshell20 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You will, just go through it one step at a time. No problem, glad I could point you in the right direction. Good luck.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  10. Redflea
    Offline

    Redflea Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +3
  11. Probedroid
    Offline

    Probedroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's all good now, running cyanogenmod, and it's beautiful! Just needed a factory reset (slap upside the head). Thanks for everybody's help!
  12. havens1515
    Offline

    havens1515 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    For the record:

    1) I love the name of this post. It's amazing that you could think of something so clever in such a stressful time. (I've been stuck in a bootloop for a while before, I was flipping out!)
    2) I'm glad you were able to get your phone working.

    When I was stuck, I did the same thing. I came to these awesome people for spiritual guidance. They talked me through how to sbf, and got me up and running in about an hour. Just keep the ball rolling and help someone else if the opportunity presents itself. :)
  13. joeshell20
    Offline

    joeshell20 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Glad I could help.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums