[Follow-Up] ARM Denies Rumors They Are Working on a 128-bit Mobile Processor

Discussion in 'Android News' started by dgstorm, Nov 22, 2013.

  1. dgstorm

    dgstorm Editor in Chief
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11,016
    Likes Received:
    3,979
    Trophy Points:
    823
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +4,254
    [​IMG]

    Just a couple of days ago we shared stories from across the web suggesting ARM is supposedly developing 128-bit mobile processors for the future. It turns out, this intel was wholly inaccurate as ARM themselves have come forward and categorically denied this. Here's a quote with the details,

    That's a pretty strong denial. If you think about it, this really makes perfect sense. At least for the next several decades or so, it makes zero sense to have a 128-bit processor for a mobile device. The primary reason to move from a 32-bit processor to a 64-bit processor is to be able to access more than 3GB of RAM at one time. A 64-bit processor can actually access 16 Exabytes of RAM. To put that in perspective, that is the equivalent of 17,179,869,184 Gigabytes! It is unlikely we would need more RAM than that in a mobile device in this or the next generation.

    Because of this reality, a 64-bit processor will likely be the flavor of all microprocessors for quite some time.

    Source: ARM
     
  2. LoneWolfArcher

    LoneWolfArcher Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,791
    Likes Received:
    470
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Ratings:
    +618
    Pun unintended? :D
     
  3. tgyberg

    tgyberg Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Likes Received:
    302
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Minneapolis, Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +326
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL & C
    Stop toying with us! :D
     
  4. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5,977
    Likes Received:
    766
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Ratings:
    +932
    I am going to LMAO when phones come out late next year with 64-bit cpu's and still only 2-3 gigs of ram.
     
  5. akhenax

    akhenax Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,690
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +496
    Speak for yourself there buddy. I need at least 15,000,000,000 Gigabytes just to play Candy Crush Saga.
     
  6. AECRADIO

    AECRADIO Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ.
    Ratings:
    +25
    Current Phone Model:
    1.Moto-G, Droid-X, 3.Droid 2
    Twitter:
    @AECRADIO
    I think the Intel-ligence of the statement speaks volumes.
    As for memory, I still do not understand WHY the device makers insist on stocking their products with minimal RAM, when memory is not costly, they can make the base memory at least 64 MB, and the user memory at twice this amount. ROM can also be generously increased as well.
    Programs are constantly growing in size and complexity, and with the level of integration with CPU/GPU and overall speeds, even 64 GB will become bottom of the barrel.
    I would love to see actual 64 GB devices that actually make use of a real 64 MB build, in terms of both CPU/GPU, and overall performance increases, not just random benchmarks that do little in the real world.
    Device users can not make use of metaphysical data.
    View attachment 68060
    The above pic, is an Intel ATOM N2600 microprocessor, 32-bit architecture

    Correction: Changed MB to GB as originally intended..
     
    #6 AECRADIO, Nov 22, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2013
  7. liftedplane

    liftedplane Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,167
    Likes Received:
    722
    Trophy Points:
    323
    Location:
    Washington State
    Ratings:
    +881
    MB? or GB? I'm confused... my first pc definitely had 32mb of ram... back in 1997, I definitely know I couldn't run any programs I run now (or at least not as smooth as I do) with less than 1gb and that's on my phone my PC has 16gb and my laptop 12gb.

    I do think they need to stop releasing 16gb phones though... make them 32 and 64 only... no reason for 16gb when most of that is taken by the system and you don't have a physical slot for an SD card. that's why I'll never get a nexus device... ever.
     
  8. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5,977
    Likes Received:
    766
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Ratings:
    +932
    See, the RAM deal is both to keep costs down AND to force people to have to upgrade every 2-3 years as Android and apps demand more and more ram.

    But there simply is no excuse for not adding more storage. Again that's mostly Google (and the OEM's) pushing people to the cloud.
     
  9. combatmedic870

    combatmedic870 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,335
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Portland OR
    Ratings:
    +56
    Im sure we will see samsung or htc make the push to 4gb ddr3 ram very soon with the S5 or the htc two. I would love to see GPU's receive 256mb-51mb2 of ddr5 personally, on its own dedicated chip.


    So 4gb ddr3 ram chipset and 256mb-512mb ddr5 dedicated, strictly for gpu. Bring it on.

    I'd like to also see a speed increase in the memory. Samsungs move to USB3 is in the right direction. But I am not getting USB3 speeds. What ever the bottle neck is in the memory. I'd like to see it resolved next year(if its software, i'd like it fixed). The phone might be fast as all crazyness. But if it takes 15 seconds to transfer a 1.5GB file VIA USB3 (USB3 to USB3). Something is amiss.
     
    #9 combatmedic870, Nov 26, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2013
  10. akhenax

    akhenax Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,690
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +496
    That would be because of the use of cheap nand storage technologies. If they up their performance specs for the nand, you will see those (read/write) transfer speeds increase.
     
  11. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5,977
    Likes Received:
    766
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Ratings:
    +932
    15 seconds to transfer a 1.5gb file? LOL, it takes me 4+ hours to transfer 56gigs of music to my class10 SD.
     
  12. kodiak799

    kodiak799 Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5,977
    Likes Received:
    766
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Ratings:
    +932
    Samsung announced in August they are now mass producing 3D-nand chips which boast capacity of 128gb to 1TB. So maybe we'll see 128gigs of internal storage in the S5 or Note4?

    There's also new stackable ram coming from at least one mfr (forget who) and possibly Samsung such that 8gb would have the same footprint as 2gb.

    Not sure about cost, but we COULD see a major leap in the hardware capability by the end of next year. However, because of cost (even if only talking like $20-$30) and "planned obsolescence" the new capabilities will be trickled out likely over several years.

    Basically smartphones could be as powerful by the end of 2014 as current high-end ultrabooks. But we the consumer won't see such an option at any price. The appeal, to me, is dual-boot full Windows and basically be carrying the power of a laptop in my pocket.