FNG needs help with rooting

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by BLS, Feb 26, 2010.

1. BLS

BLS New Member

I'm not asking for explanations.
    I work in IT, and have for 15 years.
    I fully understand rooting, and it's purpose.
    But I'm stuck at using the backup and how to install home screens (I hope I have the right terminology) like Smoked Glass.

My biggest concern is "can i restore back to factory default if something goes wrong"? And how?

I'd like to be able to use my phone as a modem/router for my laptop.
    It's my understanding that I need to root it to do so.
    However, once it's rooted (and it is currently), how do I go about doing this?

I know how forums work. I'm 'that' guy right now.
    I just need something concise and readable. The last thread I looked at was 97 freakin pages long and I'd prefer to not read all of that for the 1 page worth of significant data I need.

Can someone offer me some assistance?
  2. MJ5150

MJ5150 New Member

Each guy with a ROM puts together a theme, but you can change the theme yourself or try another theme without impacting your ROM. Just make sure the theme will work on your ROM.

As for me, I installed the Smoked Glass 4.5 ROM, found a couple themes I liked, then built my own theme by combining pieces from others.

Best way to go back to factory is to use the SBF method with RSD Lite. It takes about 10 minutes to get your phone back to how it was the day it came out of the box.

-Mike
  3. mjones1052

mjones1052 New Member