FM radio

Discussion in 'Maverick ROM D3' started by GreenSnow, Jul 19, 2012.

  1. GreenSnow

    GreenSnow Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    does anyone have a good FM radio app?
     
  2. vbhokiefan

    vbhokiefan Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    VA Beach VA
    Ratings:
    +8
  3. GreenSnow

    GreenSnow Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    i tired that one and it just sits at the launch screen.

    i installed it with the link you just gave me and does the same thing. any suggstions?
     
  4. dmartins

    dmartins Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. GreenSnow

    GreenSnow Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    ya both apps d othe same thing, just sit at the launch screen
     
  6. vbhokiefan

    vbhokiefan Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    VA Beach VA
    Ratings:
    +8
    not sure if it's the same one or not but check here

    btw, you are plugging headphones in first, correct? :biggrin:
     
  7. GreenSnow

    GreenSnow Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Ya I think that's the same one from google play store, (atleast from the picture, the file has ben removed due to violation)

    And yes I do have headphones plugged in

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
     
  8. dalegg

    dalegg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have read conflicting stories as to if the Note 3 will have an FM radio. I read the Note 2 did but some carriers blocked it. Verizon???
    I have looked at all the specs and there was no mention of one. I use it to watch TV at the fitness center but I can always buy a cheap gizmo that will pick up FM broadcasts if the Note 3 doesn't have one.
     
  9. New2u

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,629
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +17
    I don't see any of the major US carriers as stating that it is a feature, but i'd be very surprised if it wasn't on the phones.
     
  10. dalegg

    dalegg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    I hope you are correct and if true, I hope Verizon does not disable it.
     
  11. FunN4Lo

    FunN4Lo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    The Bionic has an FM radio. I loved FM radio, it is certainly better than streaming in several instances. JB broke the radio without root. As I understand that was at VZW's direction. I wouldn't count FM in a future device.

    As a side note, I am in a gulf coast state. A group here was trying to force legislation to require FM radios in phones. Their push was for safety. We are hurricane prone. (every region has its own natural disaster issues though) Very few people have a portable battery powered radio anymore. When power is out we are largely in the dark. But nearly everyone has a smart phone and most can charge them in their car. Problem solved. The group has not gained much ground, but more support could't hurt.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Mike.757

    Mike.757 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    Ratings:
    +111
    I plan on getting the Note 3. If it is a feature and they block it, I will root in a heartbeat!
     
  13. dalegg

    dalegg Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    If the radio is blocked, how can you unblock it by rooting your phone?
     
  14. New2u

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,629
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +17
    I just don't understand that reason that any of them would want to block access to FM radio. It's a very strange move in my book. I have the thunderbolt and it has FM radio on it.
     
  15. FunN4Lo

    FunN4Lo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    The reason is easy. I still have unlimited data, but that won't last forever. For the rest with tiered plans they want to charge those giant data overage charges
     
Similar Threads
  1. UNC
    Replies:
    Views:
    N/A
  2. jvk52td
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    20,527
  3. dalegg
    Replies:
    Views:
    N/A
  4. William Sexton
    Replies:
    Views:
    N/A
  5. daisy0504
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    642
Loading...
Search tags for this page
does the htc resound have an fm radio
,
droid 3 fm radio
,

htc rezound fm radio