FM Radio - what's the real story here?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by fishacura, Oct 25, 2011.

  1. fishacura

    fishacura Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I know when I flashed to Steel Droid I had the FM radio. I flashed back to stock and it's not there...then I noticed in root explorer that the FM radio ap does exist. Is it turned off for some reason and if so, why would Verizon bother to turn something like that off? Seems pretty benign to me. Any easy way to enable it if I have root?
     
  2. linuxgator

    linuxgator Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just search the forums, there's an FMRadio.apk out there somewhere that installs just like any other app.
     
  3. davishusband

    davishusband Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Northern Indiana
    Ratings:
    +1
    Search fm radio in the market, its there now download it root or no root doesnt matter. Its just not included in stock rom.

    Proud of my bloated D3, I don't miss unstable roms on my D1 at all!
     
  4. fishacura

    fishacura Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    But I actually do see it in root explorer....it's just not showing up in my aps...
     
  5. NoBloatware

    NoBloatware Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    What's the name of the dev? I can't find it in the market.
     
  6. linuxgator

    linuxgator Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't see it in the market either. The version I got was the stock radio app from the Droid 2, but it works just fine on the D3.
     
  7. SupperDroid

    SupperDroid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
  8. Droid3Guy

    Droid3Guy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So, just be clear, this is an app that doesn't need root and is an actual FM radio? We actually have the chip in our phones for an FM radio but Motorola chose not to add an FM radio? That's interesting. Thanks for all of this info. I learn something everyday about this phone.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  9. NoBloatware

    NoBloatware Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Yes and yes. Why Motorola/Verizon omitted it is what I'm wondering now. Maybe it had something to to with the Slacker or V CAST Music bloatware they shoved on the phone. Jerks.

    To think that these dudes left out the FM app for financial reasons...what if there's a disaster and the FM radio is the only way to get information??? Annoying and basically unconscionable!
     
  10. Droid3Guy

    Droid3Guy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just installed it on my phone. This is absolutely great to have. I cannot believe this phone didn't come with this! I would think adding this to the phone would only add more incentive to potential buyers. It's nice to have an actual radio now. Every once in a while, one of the apps like iheart can force close or start buffering, especially if you're not near wifi. Plus, I can listen to this and not have to worry about data usage right? Very happy to have this now.

    BTW, in case there are some that don't know, you don't need actual headphones to plug in to the jack. I just used a standard 3 foot wire as an antenna and that works fine too. I guess anything that you can plug into it can be used as an antenna.

    Another thing I just stumbled on to is that when you have the charger plugged in, at least a car charger anyway, it breaks up the station pretty bad. Unless there is something out there to cancel out that interference, it's almost impossible to listen to plugged in.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  11. fishacura

    fishacura Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    How did you install it? Every time I click on the link on the 1st post I get an "download unsuccessful" message :(
     
  12. Droid3Guy

    Droid3Guy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had the same problem. I found a working download in the android forums. Here is the link to it. Scroll down to post #30. That's the download that worked for me.

    http://androidforums.com/motorola-droid-3/378500-fm-radio.html

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
descargar fmradioservice.odex razr i
,
does the razr v3 have built in fm radio
,
droid razr fm chip
,
droid razr fm radio#gsc.tab
,

droid razr m fm radio

,
fm radio chip razr
,
motorola razr fm interference
,
razr fm intereference
,
real radio inside droid razor maxx