FM Radio - Only with Headphones?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by tam5070, Jul 16, 2010.

  1. tam5070

    tam5070 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    State College, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just wondering why you can't use the FM Radio app with the internal speaker? Always prompts you to plug a headset jack in and if you have it open and remove the jack it closes the app.
     
  2. cpjr

    cpjr Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +0
    it uses the headphone wires as the antenna for the radio.
     
  3. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    yea i dont think theres a way around that.

    Until we get root... :)
     
  4. tam5070

    tam5070 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    State College, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    So Simple

    Didn't even think of that. Just found it weird the app would close instead of just showing that it didn't have any reception. Thanks though!
     
  5. cpjr

    cpjr Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +0
    I figured that out because I have an Incredible also, and it will actually tell you if you try the app with no headphones.....that is the reason.

    "You need a headset to work as an antenna"
     
  6. PjD

    PjD New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I took a set of headphones, cheap set that came with a phone or cheap mp3 player, I cut the wire about 4 inches from the plug, separated the 2 wires and taped off the ends, perfect antenna, works great.
     
  7. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    so does this play out the speaker on the phone?
     
  8. ko8e24

    ko8e24 New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    i did that too ...and for those who are asking yes it does play on the speaker
     
  9. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    All you have to do is hit the menu button and choose the option to play it through the external speaker...

    Headphones obviously still need to be plugged in as they act as the antenna.
     
Similar Threads
  1. skinneejoe
    Replies:
    15
    Views:
    11,871
  2. GreenSnow
    Replies:
    15
    Views:
    10,361
  3. jvk52td
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    21,133
Loading...
Search tags for this page
to use fm radio you must plug in a headset
,
why do i need headset to use fm radio app?
,
why do i need to use a headset for radio
,
why do phones need headphones for radio
,

why do you need headphones for radio

,
why does fm radio require headphones
,
why does phone radio need headphones
,

why does radio need headphones

,
why head phone required for radio
,
why phones fm need headphone