Flashing SPRecovery SBF to Stock 2.1

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by MarkDriod, Apr 13, 2010.

  1. actngrezy

    actngrezy Active Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    delaware
    Ratings:
    +2
    I had many problems flashing sbf to 2.0.1 rooting then loading roms. 3 roms would cause phone to get stuck at moto sign on a friends phone and finally did this step flash new sbf then loaded rom and worked great. no commands just loaded a 2.1 rom w superuser app. even though I didn't use the commands between this guide and the adb guide i def learned alot about using adb.Thanks for everything!
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2010
  2. xrstoy1

    xrstoy1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can I then use Pete's "ESE81 Completely Stock With Proper Root, SU, & Baseband " by just renaming it update.zip and be completely rooted?
    or would I still have to manually add Su and superuser from the comand promt?
     
  3. gavron

    gavron Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes you can...

    E
     
  4. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2

    At this time I still link to the sbf 2.01 file in the 3rd link of my signature. I'm thinking it is time to upgrade that link to a thread such as this one. I'm thinking the 2.01 sbf is useful to return to a stock phone, while 2.1 sbf is faster to root and apply roms.
     
  5. MarkDriod

    MarkDriod Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
  7. gpaw

    gpaw New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    anyone had success doing this with a mac?
     
  8. gavron

    gavron Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    I seem to recall a post where a guy used one of the virtual machines on a mac to do it. I can't find it easily tho.

    E
     
  9. xrstoy1

    xrstoy1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Worked like a charm Installed pete's upgrade and rooted only I wanted to overclock and the kernal only goes to 550, So now I guess I need to install a new kernal, or go with a mod.
     
  10. Hangul

    Hangul New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there a guide available that detailing how to "unroot" and bring the phone back to stock in case a warranty repair/replacement or insurance claim needs to happen? I really want to try the Cyanogen mod but would like to the ability to return to stock if necessary.

    I do know there is an unrooting guide out there (droidreview) but from what I gather it looks as if it is specifically for Droids that were rooted from 2.0.1 and not 2.1, which is what I am currently running.

    Thanks in advance and please know I've googled and searched but I can't find anything that's "dumbed-down" enough for me to feel 100% comfortable with it.

    If it makes it any clearer my goals are:

    To root my mDroid
    Run the cyanogen mod (latest stable build)
    Have the ability to return to stock should it be necessary for repair or insurance claims

    Thanks again.
     
  11. FuzzyBeard

    FuzzyBeard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay. I was very nervous about doing this, but I finally jumped in. First of all thanks to the makers of the guide and all the helpful posts. I got the SPRecovery on no problem. When it came to the adb commands I went crazy. first time it said it was starting a daemon...or something like that...and it hung up. Then no matter how many times I opened and closed the command prompt or rebooted the phone, the adb commands always hung up. At least I could reboot normallt...phew. Then I saw the adb shell post.....so I tried that. Got the # was able to exit, typed the first command....hung up....arrrrrgh. Tried it one more time, carefully typing each character...and it went! WooHoo! Anyway, long story long, I can get su on the emulator to work, but it comes up with a permission screen nobody mentions. Is that normal, or did I mess up a few commands?
     
  12. jroc

    jroc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +63
    Is it a check box asking to allow or accept? If it is then u can check it to allow. Or remember this choice, something. I forgot right now.
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2010
  13. brochaos

    brochaos Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    yea, check the box to remember and then hit allow!
     
  14. BrooklynDROID

    BrooklynDROID Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I couldn't flash SPRecovery onto my phone from my home computer (Vista), but had no problem from my work computer (XP).

    SPRecovery flashed on no problems, and then I put the rooted 2.1 ESE81 ROM on. Wrapped it up with a Chevy 1.1 Low Voltage Kernel and I'm happy:)
     
  15. BoxcuttaStyle

    BoxcuttaStyle Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Question for everyone. Is this actually 'root' access then? I've seen a few guides to 'root 2.1' but at the end of the day they've just used various roms that were not the stock 2.1 ota update. If this is indeed root why don't I see the '2.1 has been rooted!!!!' threads all over the place?

    I just want to make sure I'm not going from one rooted custom rom to another.
     
Search tags for this page
dowmload free sprecovery
,
download free sprecovery
,
rsd to push sprecovery
,
sprecovery download for apk
,
sprecovery droid
,
sprecovery ese81 .sbf
,

sprecovery sbf

,
sprecovery sbf download
,
sprrecovery ese81 sbf
,
tock droid 2 sbf file download