Flashing SPRecovery SBF to Stock 2.1

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by MarkDriod, Apr 13, 2010.

  1. gavron
    Offline

    gavron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you have stock VZW 2.1 you don't have root.
    You can't overclock.
    You can't wifi tether.
    Etc. etc.

    If you flash the SPRecovery SBF, you're not rooted yet.

    If after that you flash any ROM that provides you root then you're rooted.
    You can overclock.
    You can wifi tether.

    There are threads all over the place because everyone thinks their question is unique and starts a new thread instead of searching.

    Ehud
  2. jroc
    Offline

    jroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Washington DC
    I think to answer this and to add to what gavron was saying:

    U can also get root on the official 2.1 update by:

    Flashing SP recovery, then using adb to push the superuser files to the phone (this is in respone to what I bolded up there. U can use adb to just have root on the 2.1 update, no custom ROM. *This question is not directed at u Boxcutta* Didnt Pete make this available so anyone can just put this on their phone? No custom ROM, just the official 2.1 update already rooted?)
  3. BoxcuttaStyle
    Offline

    BoxcuttaStyle New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So at the end of the day 2.1 still has not been rooted, everyone is just finding a way to throw custom roms on a phone that has had stock 2.1 installed? I figured this was the case as there didn't seem to be the excitement associated with the first time 2.0 was rooted.

    thanks for the info.
  4. gavron
    Offline

    gavron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You are correct, and there are lots of threads on "when will 2.1 be rooted" and some people saying "Never because nobody is working on it because the workaround is fine" and others saying the workaround IS tantamount to it being rooted.

    :)

    E
  5. sparacing
    Offline

    sparacing New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK guys possibly a strange question...but here goes...

    I expected after the flash for RSDLite to go through a slow reboot and the phone to boot up through the normal M sign and then the droid eye...etc.

    What I got was a quick reboot msg in RSDLite and the phone just returned to the boot loader.

    Now everytime I boot the phone with the usb cable plugged in it goes to the boot loader...even if I hold down X (as if I'm trying to go to the SPRecovery screen).

    Any ideas? I don't believe this is normal behavior...although the phone boots ok and I can get into SPR...I just think something didn't go quite right...

    Thanks,
    -S
  6. movadoevo8
    Offline

    movadoevo8 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The whole point for me is I Don't want want to install a custom ROM i just want to ROOT the stock one. I've had custom ROMs before and the Official 2.1 runs better and smoother and no forecloses then some of the ROMs i have installed in the pass. THat is the reason why I would like to ROOT the official 2.1. I only need root access to over clock my processor (that is all i'm trying to accomplish).
  7. kdizzi3
    Offline

    kdizzi3 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New mexico
    Is it that hard to root 2.1 for no money or cred?
  8. Harrybub
    Offline

    Harrybub New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I'll not argue over the semantics of "root" but I used the guide in post #10 in this thread and ended up with 2.1 OTA and root access. I did not install any roms at all. Any root app I tried worked. Is that not "root"?

    HB
  9. cupfulloflol
    Offline

    cupfulloflol New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You are correct, technically to do root this, you kinda have to install a ROM. http://www.droidforums.net/forum/bu...completely-stock-proper-root-su-baseband.html It is 100% stock, except it has the root permissions enabled. Then you would just need an overclocking kernel, and you have an overclocked "stock" Droid.
  10. kdizzi3
    Offline

    kdizzi3 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New mexico
    so wifi tether works as welll?
  11. gavron
    Offline

    gavron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Read the sticky notes at the top of the forum.

    Best of luck to you.

    E
  12. ZBoater
    Offline

    ZBoater New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am not the expert, but I didn't have to install any ROM to get root access on my 2.1 OTA. I installed SPRecovery, mounted the system, and copied su and Superuser.apk. Done. I was rooted.

    I have since gone crazy with custom ROMs, but that is a whole other story... :icon_ banana:
  13. gavron
    Offline

    gavron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, if you like the "complicated way" then you can
    a. Install adb
    b. Use SPrecovery to mount /system
    c. Use adb to push the files over
    d. Reboot
    e. Do the post-reboot procedure to install SuperUser

    Or you can do what the thread says
    a. Install a custom ROM (of which one of the options is an alread-rooted fully-stock-otherwise ESE81 which is the VZW 2.1 OTA ROM)

    To each his or her own.

    E
  14. ZBoater
    Offline

    ZBoater New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Had I known what I know now, I would have chosen door #2. :D I've been trying several custom roms, and UltimateDroid v10 with the Nextheme is my favorite!!! :icon_ banana:
  15. gdawg522
    Offline

    gdawg522 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok guys so I tried this today following the procedure on the first page. I'm hung up at the step that involves using RSD Lite to flash the abf file. I can't get the start button to become clickable after navigating to the file and connecting the phone in program mode. I have below a screen shot of the issue. I can't get the file details window to populate after selecting the abf file.
  16. gdawg522
    Offline

    gdawg522 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok I was able to find a workaroud for that issue. I tried the install on an XP machine and it worked. Now I'm having the problem with the adb commands. I have a screenshot attached.
  17. SpudDogg
    Offline

    SpudDogg New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I keep getting an error that the flashing failed. Anyone have an idea?

    What I've done so far is put my phone back to stock via RSD and the file "VZW_A855_ESD56_QSC6085BP_C_01.3E.01P_SW_UPDATE_03.sbf". Now I'm running the official OTA 2.1, totally stock.

    Here's a screeny of RSD failing:
    [​IMG]
  18. jroc
    Offline

    jroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Try this to verify if its working right type:

    adb usb, hit enter

    adb devices, hit enter

    adb shell, hit enter

    If u get errors with any one of those or it just freeze/hangs, somethings wrong. If u type

    adb shell

    and it works, ( u will see a # sign if it works) type exit to start over and try to push the 2 files. If u try to type exit and it hangs/freezes, somethings wrong.

    Spud, what does the rest of that error message say? I never had problems using RSD, so I'm not familiar with the errors.
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2010
  19. pandies
    Offline

    pandies New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    new here... anyone know how to do this process on Mac OSX?
    thanks... :)
  20. dogdays
    Offline

    dogdays New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have been following different threads and trying to get SPRecovery flashed to my Droid. I have tried for 4 hours and everything I try fails to flash. I have a Moto Droid and I am using Vista. I have RSD Lite and the SPRecovery sbf. I tried using math3w's approach but apparently that will not work on my Droid. I tried following christim's thread and that doesn't work. I have tried to make sure I have administrator privileges and I don't know what else to try. I have been searching threads and I haven't found anything that is helping me. How do I get SPRecovery flashed or just get my Droid rooted?
Search tags for this page
defy black screen after flash sbf
,
dowmload free sprecovery
,
download free sprecovery
,
flashing sprecovery sbf to stock 2.2
,
rsd to push sprecovery
,
sbf droid stock zip file download
,
sprecovery download for apk
,
sprecovery droid
,
sprecovery ese81 .sbf
,

sprecovery sbf

,
sprecovery sbf download
,
tock droid 2 sbf file download