1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Flashing SBF with a Mac

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by OneTenderRebel, Apr 18, 2010.

  1. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    For anyone with a Mac, you can flash with rsdlite. You have to download vmware fusion. Do the 30 day trial. Install the trial virtual machine, install the trial windows version. Do all the steps listed in unroot/unbrick thread or the new flash sprecovery thread. I did this and it worked perfect. Took quite awhile to download all the files to vmware and windows but when everything was installed I had sprecovery on my phone in about 5 minutes. I still haven't decided if I want to try a ROM out but atleast now I have the ability to do so.
  2. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ok so I decided to put a rom on afterall. I put on chevy's simply stunning 3.1. I am completely new to rooting so now I have like a thousand different questions which I will spare you all with. You kind of get hooked when you finally go through with the process.
  3. JonKyu
    Offline

    JonKyu New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    Ugh I had the most ****tious time trying to flash the SBF on my mac. I tried Virtualbox (free virtual machine software) and it didn't go through. Tried to install bootcamp but couldn't because of some disk permission thing which would require me to make a backup of my drive and then re-install the OS (ugh! yeah right...) then finally installed VMware and finally got it to go through after like 5 tries e.e;;;. So frustrating!!!!
  4. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I have VMware and I can't even figure out how to get it to recognize my phone. Got any clues you'd like to pass along?
  5. JonKyu
    Offline

    JonKyu New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    Hey hookbill, when your droid is connected one of the usb icons in the bottom of a windowed screen will be lit. If you click on it it'll give you the option to mount your motorola device. That should get it to recognize. Also make sure you installed the motorola drivers also.



    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  6. voydas
    Offline

    voydas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did it that way and it worked fine.
  7. medic7012
    Offline

    medic7012 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am in the process of downloading the VM files to my MAC now. Am I correct in saying that once the initial root is done I can change roms if I so please without needing to use windows programs like the initial?
  8. Walt
    Offline

    Walt New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same question, once I get my phone rooted will I be able to put the ROM's onto my sdcard from my mac securely? does anyone know?
  9. OneTenderRebel
    Offline

    OneTenderRebel New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Once you flash the sbf with rsdlite the first time you are free to add any Rom you want from the sd card or from Rom Manager.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  10. christim
    Offline

    christim Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    For Medic and Walt: short answer - yes, you are correct.

    longer explanation answer:

    RSD Lite is a windows based application. Windows can be run as a vm, as indicated above. RSD Lite is needed to flash SBF files such as the SPRecovery app or to flash back to stock.

    Any computer can download filename.xyz and copy it to your sdcard as long as you have the means to mount the card to the computer. This includes roms, theme files, etc.

    You also could use the phone itself to download the rom to the phone. Then you could rename it and place it where it needs to go according to the rom install directions you are following. Likewise you could use Rom Manager DMUpdater or other tools to install roms to your phone.

    The only downside is if you needed to get back to stock with an SBF file? I don't know what happens if you install these VM tools and Windows VM and then uninstall them. Do you get unlimited trial periods if you install from scratch each time? I'll add that most don't need RSD Lite and worst case is you use a friend's computer if need be.
  11. kprz24
    Offline

    kprz24 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    is there any other free virtual machines i can use because i can't download the one vmware provides.
  12. kxkid
    Offline

    kxkid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Where can I get a free trial of windows xp???? the PC i have does not have 2.0 USB's and I am unable to sbf using that so all I have left is my MAC.
  13. Droidmash
    Offline

    Droidmash New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  14. kxkid
    Offline

    kxkid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well come to find out you have to have highspeed usb ports and I do not have those on any of the 3 comps I have. I loaded windows through boot camp on my parents mac and thats where I found I need the high speed ports. Thanks.
  15. kxkid
    Offline

    kxkid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the error I get is; failed flashing process. Failed flashing process. unable to retrieve initialization values from INI file. {0x7029}; phone connected
  16. kxkid
    Offline

    kxkid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bump does anyone know what to do?
  17. bsbabcock
    Offline

    bsbabcock New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Edit: WARNING WARNING THE MAC VERSION I ISN'T VERIFIED TO BE SAFE. PROCEED AT YOUR OWN RISK.

    Thought I'd share in case it's not covered ad nausium in another thread on this particular forum:

    Flashing sbf from directly within OSX on a Mac Post#69 in the mdw forum thread:
    (Not yet) Root with GB 2.3.3 work togther


    A little search on the blog there I found this sbf_flash update blog entry:
    OPTICALDELUSION: sbf_flash updates

    Saturday, February 26, 2011

    sbf_flash updates

    sbf_flash has been updated; there's now a mac os x port, in addition, support has been added for the Defy, Charm and possibly the Atrix.
    sbf_flash [options] [sbf file]
    -f - force; attempt to continue on error
    -v - verbose output (of CDT)
    -r - read CDT information from the phone
    -x - extract sbf file
    -d - download cg from phone
    --cgname [file] - upload/download cgname matches any cgname shown with -r optional file arg for contents

    Examples

    sbf_flash file.sbf
    upload file.sbf

    sbf_flash -v -r
    display detailed CDT information

    sbf_flash -r --boot file.sbf
    sbf_flash -r --boot boot.img file.sbf
    upload boot, optionally using boot.img as the contents

    sbf_flash -r -d --boot
    sbf_flash -r -d --boot boot.img
    download boot, if boot.img isn't specified it will be
    saved using the cgname ("boot") as the filename

    Download

    (* updated Atrix support; many thanks to irc user relaxed)
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2011
  18. Cortez
    Offline

    Cortez New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    I get

    SBF FLASH 1.20 (mbm)
    OPTICALDELUSION

    === MC1_A855_1282081087_Recovery-Only_SPRecovery_0.99.3b.sbf ===
    00: RDL03 0x80500000-0x8054CFFF DECE AP
    01: CG47 0xC0A00000-0xC0D5C7FF 02C0 AP

    Bus error
    DCE-Laptop:Droid Cortez$ chmod +x sbf_flash
    DCE-Laptop:Droid Cortez$ ./sbf_flash MC1_A855_1282081087_Recovery-Only_SPRecovery_0.99.3b.sbf
    SBF FLASH 1.20 (mbm)
    OPTICALDELUSION

    === MC1_A855_1282081087_Recovery-Only_SPRecovery_0.99.3b.sbf ===
    00: RDL03 0x80500000-0x8054CFFF DECE AP
    01: CG47 0xC0A00000-0xC0D5C7FF 02C0 AP

    Bus error
    DCE-Laptop:Droid Cortez$


    HELP?!!?
  19. bsbabcock
    Offline

    bsbabcock New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    http://www.droidxforums.com/forum/d...-solution-your-windows-rsd-lite-problems.html

    I think this method may not be dx only. Not sure which phone you're on. I used 1KDS's linux method above and it works like a champ I believe. PC/MAC agnostic too. Read up in there to see if its for you. Hopefully will get you going.

    I used it on an iMac OS X, and I'm a mac newb and I have zero linux experience.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2011
  20. Cortez
    Offline

    Cortez New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    I was doing it on a Droid 1. I got pissed at it so, I just pulled out the old Windows Desktop and did it on there.

    But would love to know how to do it on a Mac still.
Search tags for this page
flash droid bionic with mac
,
flash droid to cricket mac
,
flash sbf without rsd lite mac
,
flashear defy en mac osx
,
flashing motorola droid rom from mac
,
how flash droid x on mac
,
htc dna free and easy flashing without pc
,
mac defy sbf
,
mac os x flash droidx
,
rsdlite mac
,

sbf flash osx defy

,
sbf mac droid2
,
sbf my nexus 4 with a mac
,
sbfing on mac
,
unbrick my moto defy with mac os x