Flashing SBF with a Mac

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by OneTenderRebel, Apr 18, 2010.

  1. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    For anyone with a Mac, you can flash with rsdlite. You have to download vmware fusion. Do the 30 day trial. Install the trial virtual machine, install the trial windows version. Do all the steps listed in unroot/unbrick thread or the new flash sprecovery thread. I did this and it worked perfect. Took quite awhile to download all the files to vmware and windows but when everything was installed I had sprecovery on my phone in about 5 minutes. I still haven't decided if I want to try a ROM out but atleast now I have the ability to do so.
     
  2. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    Ok so I decided to put a rom on afterall. I put on chevy's simply stunning 3.1. I am completely new to rooting so now I have like a thousand different questions which I will spare you all with. You kind of get hooked when you finally go through with the process.
     
  3. JonKyu

    JonKyu Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ugh I had the most ****tious time trying to flash the SBF on my mac. I tried Virtualbox (free virtual machine software) and it didn't go through. Tried to install bootcamp but couldn't because of some disk permission thing which would require me to make a backup of my drive and then re-install the OS (ugh! yeah right...) then finally installed VMware and finally got it to go through after like 5 tries e.e;;;. So frustrating!!!!
     
  4. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    I have VMware and I can't even figure out how to get it to recognize my phone. Got any clues you'd like to pass along?
     
  5. JonKyu

    JonKyu Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey hookbill, when your droid is connected one of the usb icons in the bottom of a windowed screen will be lit. If you click on it it'll give you the option to mount your motorola device. That should get it to recognize. Also make sure you installed the motorola drivers also.



    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  6. voydas

    voydas Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did it that way and it worked fine.
     
  7. medic7012

    medic7012 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am in the process of downloading the VM files to my MAC now. Am I correct in saying that once the initial root is done I can change roms if I so please without needing to use windows programs like the initial?
     
  8. Walt

    Walt New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same question, once I get my phone rooted will I be able to put the ROM's onto my sdcard from my mac securely? does anyone know?
     
  9. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +63
    Once you flash the sbf with rsdlite the first time you are free to add any Rom you want from the sd card or from Rom Manager.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  10. christim

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,100
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    New England
    Ratings:
    +2
    For Medic and Walt: short answer - yes, you are correct.

    longer explanation answer:

    RSD Lite is a windows based application. Windows can be run as a vm, as indicated above. RSD Lite is needed to flash SBF files such as the SPRecovery app or to flash back to stock.

    Any computer can download filename.xyz and copy it to your sdcard as long as you have the means to mount the card to the computer. This includes roms, theme files, etc.

    You also could use the phone itself to download the rom to the phone. Then you could rename it and place it where it needs to go according to the rom install directions you are following. Likewise you could use Rom Manager DMUpdater or other tools to install roms to your phone.

    The only downside is if you needed to get back to stock with an SBF file? I don't know what happens if you install these VM tools and Windows VM and then uninstall them. Do you get unlimited trial periods if you install from scratch each time? I'll add that most don't need RSD Lite and worst case is you use a friend's computer if need be.
     
  11. kprz24

    kprz24 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    is there any other free virtual machines i can use because i can't download the one vmware provides.
     
  12. kxkid

    kxkid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Where can I get a free trial of windows xp???? the PC i have does not have 2.0 USB's and I am unable to sbf using that so all I have left is my MAC.
     
  13. Droidmash

    Droidmash New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  14. kxkid

    kxkid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well come to find out you have to have highspeed usb ports and I do not have those on any of the 3 comps I have. I loaded windows through boot camp on my parents mac and thats where I found I need the high speed ports. Thanks.
     
  15. kxkid

    kxkid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    the error I get is; failed flashing process. Failed flashing process. unable to retrieve initialization values from INI file. {0x7029}; phone connected
     
Search tags for this page
flash droid bionic with mac
,
flash sbf without rsd lite mac
,
how flash droid x on mac
,
htc dna free and easy flashing without pc
,
mac defy sbf
,
mac os x flash droidx
,
rsdlite mac
,

sbf flash osx defy

,
sbf my nexus 4 with a mac
,
unbrick my moto defy with mac os x