flashing from kaosfroyo to ginerbread

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Eris' started by smithj156, Mar 20, 2011.

  1. smithj156
    Offline

    smithj156 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    is there anything i need to worrie about also how do i got about doing this just reboot and run new rom corect
     
  2. mamawm
    Offline

    mamawm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    mississippi
    Ratings:
    +3
    just don't forget to make a nand backup, wipe everything, and flash gapps when you flash the rom.
     
  3. smithj156
    Offline

    smithj156 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    K I'm new to all this could someone tell me how to do this please

    Sent from my FroyoEris using DroidForums App
     
  4. LoneWolfArcher
    Offline

    LoneWolfArcher Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    150
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +156
    They should all be options in the recovery menu. Download the gapps zip file and have it in the root of your sdcard along with the ROM.

    Boot into recovery mode (hold volume down and power on). Use the menu to do a NAND back-up. Then do a wipe. Wipe the cache as well. Then flash the ROM, the flash gapps.
     
  5. Jolest
    Offline

    Jolest Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Everything in the phone will be erased when you switch.
    Everything in the phone will be erased when you switch.
    Everything in the phone will be erased when you switch.

    If you want to save anything, back it up BEFORE YOU START to update!

    Even make a backup of the contents of your microSD card before you start.

    After you finish the update, when you FIRST go into the Market app and switch to the My Apps view, it will show you a list of the apps you had installed and give you the option of reinstalling them. This only happens the first time you run Market. After the first time, it switches back to only showing what you have installed, so use it or loose it. Don't switch away from the Market app for any reason until you've reinstalled everything you want to reinstall.

    After you're finished updating and reinstalling apps, I recommend you also install the Titanium Backup app. It's one of the only apps that will save and recover everything. If you are already rooted (or you can find one of the non-destructive rooting apps) I recommend installing this before your update and use it to back up everything. After you finish the update, you can use this to reinstall everything instead of using Market. BUT, if you change roms (as you implied you're going to do), when using TB to restore your files, don't restore any of the system data files as those tend to change from one version of the OS to another.

    Good luck.
     
  6. smithj156
    Offline

    smithj156 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    where do i get this gaps file
     
  7. spc_hicks09
    Offline

    spc_hicks09 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Marion, OH
    Ratings:
    +34
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy S3
    Twitter:
    spc_hicks09
    It will be in the same post as the rom. Well it should be. If not, you can find them easily at xda.

    Sent from my MIUI Droid using DroidForums App
     
  8. smithj156
    Offline

    smithj156 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    just flashed this rom and there is no market palce anyone else have this problem please helkp
     
  9. spc_hicks09
    Offline

    spc_hicks09 Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Marion, OH
    Ratings:
    +34
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy S3
    Twitter:
    spc_hicks09
    Again, go back to the post where you got the rom. The gapps file will be there. That's what you need to get the market back. What's the URL of the rom?


    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  10. smithj156
    Offline

    smithj156 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for all yalls help but i went to my kaosfroyo i like it allot better
     
Search tags for this page

kaosfroyo v39 download