Flashed v38 kaosfroyo and phone lasts 2 hours

Discussion in 'HTC Droid Eris' started by f100cleveland, Nov 1, 2010.

  1. f100cleveland
    Offline

    f100cleveland New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I flashed my gf's Eris over to the v38 kaosfroyo and didn't purchase Setcpu, just running whatever kernel comes with the ROM. From a complete charge, the phone will last 2-3 hours with NO use. The only application that she is using that didn't come with the ROM is Fancy Widget. Its setup to update every 2 hours, so I don't see how that can be killing the battery. It also is very hot. It just acts like something is running and working the processor very hard. Any help? Maybe try a different ROM?
  2. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    I'd wipe it and try again. Also you should bite the bullet and drop the $2 on setcpu, its well worth it. If you cant afford the $2, you can get it for free from the developer on xda. Hot phone = bad things.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  3. f100cleveland
    Offline

    f100cleveland New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the reply. That is actually the 2nd time I installed it fresh. It did the same thing the first time it was installed. I have SetCPU on my Moto Droid and love it, but she doesn't see any reason in spending the extra money on it. I think if it doesn't get better, I'm going to put the 2.1 OTA back on it. She likes the way the stock HTC unlock screen is and doesn't like the 2.2 slider.
  4. slikrider20
    Offline

    slikrider20 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same problem, my phone is lucky to last 2 hours with NO use on V38.

    I honestly can't tell a difference using SetCPU or not...

    I'm gonna go back to V37 and see if it goes back to normal.
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2010
  5. HomidialSpoon
    Offline

    HomidialSpoon New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    that happened to me to, i went from v37 to v38 and went from getting almost 2 days out of a battery to getting almost 4 hours, i am going back to v37, and will wait for v39 to come out to see if that helps with the battery.
  6. slikrider20
    Offline

    slikrider20 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I re installed v37, did the battery calibration thing and now my phone is back to normal. It's been unplugged for 3 hours now and is at 94 percent :D

    It's simple to swap Kaosfroyo versions, i just do the dalvik cache clear and then reflash the old zip.
  7. Threeball
    Offline

    Threeball New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This has come up quite a bit over at xda. All you need to do is update the kernel. Its cfs v6 available from the user conap. Just flash it over the top of kaosfroyo v38.

    Sent from my FroyoEris using DroidForums App
  8. projekt128
    Offline

    projekt128 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Do you have the link for this by chance?

    Check. I found it.. Also do you know if conap's rom is more stable/better off than kaosfroyo?

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=723263
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2010
  9. RyansGirl101302
    Offline

    RyansGirl101302 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ohio
    I just flashed that and my battery lasts from 6am-10pm with the battery losing barely half its life. Made a HUGE difference.

    Sent from my FroyoEris using DroidForums App
  10. RyansGirl101302
    Offline

    RyansGirl101302 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ohio
    The cfsv6. Kernel is what I just flashed btw

    Sent from my FroyoEris using DroidForums App
  11. projektorboy
    Offline

    projektorboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    [​IMG]


    Android ROM Site

    The above link is to Conap's download page. His CFS kernel is now up to v8 and it's completely safe to flash.

    When updating the kernel (especially since you've had battery issues) there are 3 very important things you must do when you reboot into recovery to do the flash:

    1. Wipe Cache
    2. Wipe Dalvik
    3. Wipe Battery Stats

    Since the previous battery-draining kernel threw all the battery calibration data out of whack, you'll need to wipe battery stats & discharge your battery completely a few times for your phone to re-learn how the battery is supposed to go. That will maximize battery life for you.

    Please note that because you wiped the system cache & Dalvik cache, rebooting your phone into the OS after installing the kernel will take longer, up to five minutes. This is normal.

    In addition to all this, you will want to go to the Applications menu under settings and clear data for the Camera. Reboot after clearing the data, and your camera should be a lot more stable.
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2010
  12. powerhouselb
    Offline

    powerhouselb New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Beaumont, CA
    Well, that did the trick for my phone. Not only does the battery last as it should, but the Gallery is a lot smoother, it loads faster, and the native camera works again. Now, if I could just figure out why you tube videos no longer play. Oh well.
    Thanks a heap.

    Edited: 12/01/2010 - I used the PerfLock Disabler in SetCPU on my Eris and YouTube videos play like a charm now. For now, anyway.
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2010
  13. my77stang
    Offline

    my77stang New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been having the same problems with mine after flashing with the battery dying SO fast. I also noticed that my camera locks up after about 1/2 a second and the side sliding method to unlock the phone is a real PITA.

    What I did notice over the stock 2.1 fw was the phone seems to be faster, I use shoutout for txting and it was taking FOREVER to type stuff and navigate - it works much much faster now but the voice texting stopped working :(
  14. eris94
    Offline

    eris94 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i am completely new at this, how do flash that cfsv6 file over KaosFroyo v38? i already saved the .zip file to my computer but now im not sure what to do
  15. projektorboy
    Offline

    projektorboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Edit: Accidental double-post
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2010
  16. projektorboy
    Offline

    projektorboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Flash it the same way you flashed KaosFroyo. Make absolutely sure that you wipe your cache & dalvik cache or you risk even more issues.
  17. my77stang
    Offline

    my77stang New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah, and i liked the cfs stuff better anyways... just picked up an lg ally - anything decent out there for it yet?
  18. eris94
    Offline

    eris94 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so i did the CFS stuff. I falshed it like i did with the KaosFroyo i also wiped the cache & dalvik-cache. today the battery completely died and now when i try to turn it on, it doesnt go past the skateboarding droids. but if i want to go to the boot menu it does that without a problem
  19. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    When you wipe the delvik cache, the first boot can take several minutes. Make sure your battery has a good charge, rewipe your cache and delvik cache, and reboot agian. Give it 5 minutes before you start to worry.
  20. chadmledford
    Offline

    chadmledford New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Similar thing happened to me, I rewioed and reflashed rom to be safe and never had prob again

    Sent from my nonsensikal froyo using DroidForums App