Flashable 15p baseband available

Discussion in 'Droid X Roms' started by Savagerun, Apr 22, 2012.

  1. Savagerun
    Offline

    Savagerun Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Thx goes to ky41083 for extracting the 15p baseband from the .621 update and thx to goose for his work at making it available to us. Here's the baseband link http://dl.dropbox.com/u/45928747/1.09.15P_baseband_updater.zip as always a baseband can only be flashed on the froyo kernel then you can use the 1kds 602/605iso to sbf to gingerbread.
    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  2. leftspin
    Offline

    leftspin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +8
    Awesome to see that they finally got this working, have you flashed it yet Savage?
     
  3. Savagerun
    Offline

    Savagerun Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Yes i volunteered to try it out last night and it installed perfectly. I've been at home where my reception is normally very good so i can't really tell yet how much it helped but others have reported very positive comments of better reception. Im on aokp w/15p which is kinda cool, im glad they were able to extract it.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  4. leftspin
    Offline

    leftspin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +8
    Nice, I get crap reception at my house so I'll have to flash this and see if it helps. Thanks for sharing.

    Just out of curiosity, what's the reason that this has to be flashed on the Froyo kernel?
     
  5. Savagerun
    Offline

    Savagerun Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    All our basebands can only be flashed on froyo and why that is im not sure. Here's a link to the basebands http://rootzwiki.com/topic/2834-radios-all-baseband-updaters/ the 15p hasn't been added to the list yet but you'll notice the instructions about only being flashable on froyo. Once you install the baseband don't use rsdlite or the 2 part prerooted tbh files to go back to GB or it will revert your baseband back to 13p (which you may already know) use the 602 or 605iso to go back.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  6. leftspin
    Offline

    leftspin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +8
    I actually don't know anything about flashing radios because I've never had to do it. I didn't update to .13P until I upgraded to the .602 kernel. If I use sbf_flash (I'm a Linux user, never tried RSD or the AIO zips) will it revert my radio?
     
  7. Savagerun
    Offline

    Savagerun Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    No you should be fine using the sbf_flash. The only things that will change your baseband is what i mentioned and obviously taking the OTA. Once your on froyo just root with z4 then install the bootstrap app ( i used droidx bootstrap) and flash the 15p zip, no wipes needed. Once it's done go in your settings to verify that you have 15p then go back to GB.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  8. leftspin
    Offline

    leftspin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +8
    You're the man, thanks for the walkthrough
     
  9. Savagerun
    Offline

    Savagerun Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    No problem at all. Good luck bro...
    Edit... oh and after you flash the baseband you'll need to reactivate. You know the *228 option 1 thing.
    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2012
  10. Savagerun
    Offline

    Savagerun Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I gotta say i was able to test the new radio today in a area i normally get very bad reception and it was definitely a big improvement .

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  11. leftspin
    Offline

    leftspin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +8
    It's a huge improvement, around my house I used to get maybe one or two bars and 1X if I went by the window. After flashing this I'm getting three or four bars and 3G everywhere in the house.
     
  12. Savagerun
    Offline

    Savagerun Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    That's awesome. Takes a little bit of work going back and forth for a flash that takes 30 seconds but it's actually not too bad and definitely worth the results.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  13. leftspin
    Offline

    leftspin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +8
    Yeah it would be nice to be able to flash it on Gummy but I thought it was kinda cool going to Froyo and messing around with that, and then Gingerbread and then ICS. Android really has come a long way.
     
Search tags for this page

droid x baseband 15p

,
droid x baseband update
,
droid x radio from .07p to ,12p upgrade
,
droid x radio update
,
droid x radios
,
droidx flashing baseband
,
droidx radio update
,
flashable 15p baseband droid x
,
how to change a baseband radio on motorola droid razr
,
upgrade droid x radio without. 621