Flash!!! what does it do for the Droid...

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by jamestort, Aug 26, 2010.

  1. jamestort

    jamestort New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It helps in some areas but in most it does nothing...

    I thought we would be able to stream more media.
    can some one explain to me what flash does for our Droids..

    as you can tell I am a knob....
     
  2. harrellj

    harrellj Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +2
    It allows us to see flash-based content (and I really hate restaurant sites that are in flash) without having to go to a full-blown compuyer. It'll also allow you to brag to iPhone people that they won't get it :p

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  3. dinamael

    dinamael New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Droid + Flash + Comcast Xfinity = pretty much any TV show on my phone.

    That seems like a lot to me. :)

     
  4. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    It also allows you to see all those wonderful ads that were previously blocked. There's a way around that, if you're interested -- open the browser, tap the menu softkey, select more, select settings, then scroll till you see the plug-ins option. Select on-demand, and voila, you only see the Flash you want to.

    It's a great addition -- more media, access to a few games that work without too much problem, and once more sites start optimizing for mobile content in their Flash content you'll see a lot more.
     
  5. myriad46

    myriad46 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you mean to refer to yourself as a knob? Like a door knob? Or did you mean "Noob" as in a newbie?
     
  6. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Don't forget you can turn that down to an "as needed basis" by going to your browser settings, enable scripts and set if for "as needed."

    If you haven't done that already. :)
     
  7. LT*

    LT* Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    I just tried this combo, and I got to the "starting playback" prompt, and then it just hung. I'm on 3g, so that may be it. I'll try on wifi later and see how that goes.
     
  8. harrellj

    harrellj Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +2
    Oh, Dolphin had that st by default for me. No, I'm also grumbling about prior to getting flash, being unable to navigate menus on restaurant sites to see their food menus.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  9. Sal

    Sal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    D.C.
    Ratings:
    +0

    Is that the "on demand" option under "enable plug-ins"? What am I losing by not keeping that at "always on"?
     
  10. infinity8x3

    infinity8x3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You losing all them wonderful flash based ads, May want to reconsider.
     
  11. Sal

    Sal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    D.C.
    Ratings:
    +0

    Wouldn't want to miss those!:)

    Re: Comcast Xfinity. If I only have Comcast cable TV but not their internet/phone services, can I still get the programming on my Droid?
     
  12. aaf709

    aaf709 Nice Guy
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,180
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    I use Firefox at home and have had their Flashblocker add-on for some time. It's amazing how many sites use Flash for even small things, like uploading pictures on Facebook.
     
Search tags for this page
what does adobe flash player do on android
,
what does flash do for android
,

what does flash do on a phone

,
what does flash do on android
,
what does flash on a phone do
,
what does flash on android do
,

what does flash player do for android

,

what does flash player do for droid

,
what does flash player do on android
,
what does flashing a phone do