1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Flash OTA notification questions

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by Skurvy_Pirate, Sep 4, 2010.

  1. Skurvy_Pirate
    Offline

    Skurvy_Pirate New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Ok, I just received the OTA notification for the flash upgrade. I have BB0.4 installed with the stop OTA patch. I know that the patch was just for the FRG22 upgrade, but I am shocked that I got a notification for the flash update since I thought you needed FRG22 to get it.

    Now, does this update just enable Flash in the market, or does it do other things too? If it just enables flash that would be nice to have it so that Flash would be tied to the Market now. If that is the case, is it safe to install?

    Otherwise, how do I stop this OTA notification?
  2. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    First, since you are rooted the install will fail. SPR or CW will block.

    I'm not clear on why you received the notification. I rooted last February and I've never received an OTA notification.

    I do not have Flash installed so I'm not sure how to advise if it extends beyond the market but I imagine it does.

    Mike
  3. shooter_454
    Offline

    shooter_454 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I also received the OTA notification,i'm not running BB,i'm running Digital DetoX and have been for a few weeks and this morning it started to pop up every 30 mins.
  4. stetsonaw
    Offline

    stetsonaw Beta Team/Marty McFly Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bellevue, NE
    please look around on the forum before posting a new thread for a question asked 100 times over. The following thread has been around since tuesday and can solve your problem.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/bugless/76532-frg22d-stop-ota-notification-bb-froyo-v0-4-a.html

    Go to Peter Alfonso to see the explanation of why you are getting the notification.

    long story short, the last patch was to let verizon think you have the previous update, but does not cover the new update. it needs to be repatched.
  5. Skurvy_Pirate
    Offline

    Skurvy_Pirate New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    It wasn't intentional to ask the same questions, I always search before posting. It was a misunderstanding as I thought the second patch was to stop FRG22 or whatever since it came out right after the first Froyo update. I didn't know it was for the Flash OTA. Thanks for the info.

    Sent from my Droid
  6. stetsonaw
    Offline

    stetsonaw Beta Team/Marty McFly Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bellevue, NE
    no worries, mate! works great for the flash OTA.
  7. Skurvy_Pirate
    Offline

    Skurvy_Pirate New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Ok, so I flashed the updated stop OTA, and I am still receiving that 1.6MB update notification for enabling Flash. Anyone else have this problem?

    Sent from my Droid
  8. flyer05
    Offline

    flyer05 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same here got it twice. Let it fail the install and all good but I will probably get it again.
  9. 96accord
    Offline

    96accord New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    You will if you reboot your phone.
  10. Skurvy_Pirate
    Offline

    Skurvy_Pirate New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Yeah it comes back. Can someone with the official update post their build prop so I can just modify mine so it thinks it's updated.

    Sent from my Droid
  11. FranklinWalker
    Offline

    FranklinWalker New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i never have this problem
  12. Skurvy_Pirate
    Offline

    Skurvy_Pirate New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Thank you for the useful info haha.

    Sent from my Droid