flash new rom wipe data

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by hoagie52, Mar 11, 2010.

  1. hoagie52
    Offline

    hoagie52 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    when flashing from one rom to another do i need to wipe dada factory reset and wipe partition every time?
  2. MJ5150
    Offline

    MJ5150 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Lacey, Washington
    Ratings:
    +0
    When going from one guys ROM to another, I do.

    Do you *have* to? Not if you are staying on the same ROM version (2.1 or 2.0.1, ESE, ERE, etc).

    -Mike
  3. dodgersrgood
    Offline

    dodgersrgood Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    what does data wipe do
  4. hoagie52
    Offline

    hoagie52 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks mike that's what I was thinking.
  5. Xerozix
    Offline

    Xerozix Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Datawipe literally destroys all of the data on the phone, except for the data on the SD card. No more apps, no more contacts, (well, until you sync)

    The phone will restore your paid apps though.
Search tags for this page

do i have to wipe data/factory reset to flash a new rom

,

glalaxy s3 why wiping before flashing