Flash Browser AutoKill =/

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by Apollo, Jul 25, 2010.

  1. Apollo
    Offline

    Apollo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So, this morning I flash FRG01B over BBv0.4 using Clockwork. Mess around with it for a little while and decide to flash back to BBv0.4. Now, my setup is exactly the same as it was prior to flashing FRG01B.. Only one problem: For whatever reason, anytime I try to watch a flash video, the browser quits. Again, everything was restored, including Adobe Flash Beta 3 (which I assume is part of the problem). Any suggestions? Thanks in advance for any help guys.
  2. kennydied23
    Offline

    kennydied23 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Underclock and see if that helps.
  3. Apollo
    Offline

    Apollo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Alright, I'll give it a shot and update.
  4. gavron
    Offline

    gavron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did restoring your nandroid backup not work?

    If so try this:
    1. Boot into recovery
    2. adb shell
    3. format SYSTEM: <--- note the upper case and colon
    4. format DATA:
    5. format CACHE:
    6. exit (returns you back to non adb shell)
    7. nandroid restore your backup

    E
  5. Apollo
    Offline

    Apollo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Both failed.. I'm wiping everything and installing from scratch.
  6. gavron
    Offline

    gavron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow, sorry dude. I do nandroid backups daily... and have only had one go bad.

    I feel your pain. A reinstall is not fun.

    Best of luck.

    E
    P.S. If you're not a dude or if you don't like the word, please accept it as a Tucson Arizona regionalism for "you". No offense intended.
  7. Apollo
    Offline

    Apollo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmm.. Wiped everything, reinstalled.. Still doing the same Thing
    Any other suggestions? This is proving to be a big pain in the testes.
    Perhaps the backup sync (thought it was off) caused the problem this time.

    P.S. - No offense taken as I am, in fact, a dude (hence the testes).
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 25, 2010
  8. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OP, I deleted your other thread in Tech Support because cross-posting is not allowed.
  9. Apollo
    Offline

    Apollo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Right on, thanks for the help ;)

    Just kidding man.. But seriously, this sucks..
  10. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would recommend to do a factory reset and set your phone up w/ root again and then flash your nandroid of the BB version PRIOR to flashing FRG01.

    Something got messed up flashing the FRG01 file over BB without wiping is my guess.

    And I know it sucks... not trying to give ya a hard time... just cleaning threads :)
  11. Apollo
    Offline

    Apollo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No worries, thanks for the suggestion, I'll give it a shot.
  12. Apollo
    Offline

    Apollo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Looks like no more flash for me. I've tried everything suggested with no success.. I suppose this will just have to remain an unsolved mystery..
  13. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you tried uninstalling the flash apk and then re installing?
  14. Apollo
    Offline

    Apollo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    3 times lol
  15. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well last suggestion..... Have you tried a different ROM to see if it works?

    Could be something with BB.
  16. Apollo
    Offline

    Apollo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    *sigh* I knew it was just a matter of time before this one came up. BB is my favorite ROM so far, hate to lose it, but at this point I have no choice. Hopefully, if this is a problem with BB it will be fixed in 0.5. I've used SS and UD in the past. Any suggestions for a good ROM to test? I considered CM, but read mixed reviews.
  17. Car
    Offline

    Car New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you ever think of getting a new copy of adobe flash? Perhapse yours went bad...

    I admit, flash isn't all that impressive at this time. But it does work on this rom as many on this forum can attest. Next time you get your phone all set and running perfect, do a backup!! It makes sampling roms and themes easy cause you can always fall back to old reliable if something (like this) goes wrong.

    I tried many roms and themes and kernels and my phone reached a point where it seemed the OS was very fragmented. I ended up flashing back to stock using RSD and started from scratch root and all :-/

    Not for nothing, were running something were not even supposed to have yet. Unstable versions leaked out by a generous tester. We can't expect 100% perfection otherwise it would have been pushed to us by our carriers already ;-)
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2010
  18. Apollo
    Offline

    Apollo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Never had problems with it before. But to answer you question, yes. I downloaded two copies of Beta 3 from two different sites as well as a copy of Beta 2. Sure enough, they failed me..
  19. Apollo
    Offline

    Apollo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm about to flash Jrummy's Kangerade v6.0.11 and see what happens. I'm coming back to BB regardless, just want to confirm whether or not it is a bug in BB.
  20. Car
    Offline

    Car New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I hear ya...BB is my favorite rom. My Droid just loves it best. As I mentioned above in my edited post, sometimes you got to start from scratch. Unless you get in a good habit of backing up ;-)

    Does this happen with ALL flash content? Or do you keep trying to view a certain video or site? I noticed not all sites play well with mobile flash. And the whole "tricking" the broswer to think your at your desktop is just to get you access to the sites that don't work well (with 10.1 mobile beta) to begin with :-/
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2010