FIX: Reduce REDRAW with launcherpro/ADW *Credit to samsonite801

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by Smeech, Sep 25, 2010.

  1. sbenson

    sbenson Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,370
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Virginia/DC Metro Area
    Ratings:
    +61
    Make sure you are looking in the right data folder on the root of your phone, not on your sd card. If you are on cm, there should be a ton of files in there.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  2. HarvesterX™

    HarvesterX™ Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Ratings:
    +9
    Also, /data/local.prop needs to have a blank line at the end for this to work, and work is exactly what it does. It may cause some issues though and if it does (such as apps closing on you with out of memory errors, that you can see if you do a logcat) then you may need to tweak the internal task manager (ala, the MINFREE settings) a little as you go. The only time my screen redraws now is if I slide the keyboard out while on/in while on it. Good thinking zeppelin :)

    Code:
    ro.HOME_APP_ADJ=0 >> /data/local.prop
    # blank line
    
     
  3. lanza_david

    lanza_david Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks @HarvesterX™ , and @sbenson, but I still cannot find the file! I open the file manager, go to \data (at the very root of the directories) and there are no files in there! even though, I did the terminal command. When I run @zeppelinrox's script to check the status of the home screen priority, it comes out always at 0, so it is there, but where is the silly file!
     
  4. sbenson

    sbenson Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,370
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Virginia/DC Metro Area
    Ratings:
    +61

    Sorry, but you won't be able to see the files you're talking about with File Manager. You need to have something like Root Explorer for this. File Manager will show the data folder as completely empty. I would assume that if you did the terminal command correctly, you're probably good to go.
     
  5. lanza_david

    lanza_david Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you very much!
     
  6. zeppelinrox

    zeppelinrox Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. sbenson

    sbenson Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,370
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Virginia/DC Metro Area
    Ratings:
    +61
    So Zepp,

    Do I just need your new v6 script, Script Manager and nothing else?

    Edit: Nevermind. I just dove in and starting messing with it. I'm quite impressed! What you've done here is nothing short of amazing. Thank you my friend.
     
    #223 sbenson, May 4, 2011
    Last edited: May 4, 2011
  8. zeppelinrox

    zeppelinrox Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    My pleasure :)
    I still plan to make a thread for V6 here now that its done.

    Yep no more need for "inferior" options since init.d roms dont need an app to run on boot to set minfree levels plus nothing else that I know of fixes groupings - even on stock roms (with script manager's assistance)

    I still use AMM to check whats going on but without super user permissions - or else it will apply its minfree values.

    Sent from my Milestone using Tapatalk
     
    #224 zeppelinrox, May 4, 2011
    Last edited: May 4, 2011
  9. sbenson

    sbenson Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,370
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Virginia/DC Metro Area
    Ratings:
    +61
    Yeah, I took AMM off but I may put it back on so that I can monitor this for a while. Thank again bro.
     
  10. HarvesterX™

    HarvesterX™ Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Ratings:
    +9
    Unfortunately, I had to change this back to "1". Ultimately, the web browser I use (Dolphin Mini) became too unstable regardless ofany tweaking I could do. The browser would reliably close on it's own most of the time making it impossible to browse longer than a few minutes. I also experienced a few phone reboots as well as other abnomalies such as ADW Ex becoming extremely slow and laggy. I only tested this though on GPA14/15 and on Pete's v0.2 kernel though. When I switch back to Prime's or somebody elses I'm going to try this again. Phone was just too unstable. If anybody experienced the same issue and has a fix, then I'm all ears. But after moving to GPA`15 and using the default MinFree settings, I haven't had any redraw problems anyways.
     
  11. zeppelinrox

    zeppelinrox Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually, HTK launcher is a 1.
    But I made visible apps a 2 where usually they are 1.

    Normally, launcher is still killed before visible apps even when locked in memory.

    I made it so that the launcher is stronger than visible apps and much harder to kill.

    So its the best of both worlds.

    It's a complete memory management system.

    Sent from my Milestone using Tapatalk
     
  12. Vakharn

    Vakharn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +8
    How would one go about removing this from data/local.prop? It seems to have slowed down other aspects of my phone as a tradeoff and I don't like it.
     
Search tags for this page

adw redraw fix

,
android redraw fix
,
edit ro.home app
,
fix adw redraw on ics
,
home launcher with less ram usage
,
launcher redraw fix
,

launcherpro redraw fix

,
reduce launcher redraw
,
reduce launcher redraw android
,
what is ro.home app