1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Fix for this? Plug in earbuds = music play on

Discussion in 'cvpcs' started by cowdog, Jul 17, 2010.

  1. cowdog
    Offline

    cowdog New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montana
    Is there a way to stop the droid from starting the music player automatically when earbuds/headphones are plugged in? Ideally there would be a setting for this. I imagine some like this "feature". I very much do not like it. 99.9% of the time I plug in earbuds, it is not for the music player.

    If not, is this something that is a reasonable Sapphire feature request, or do I have to go all the way to Google for an Android feature request?

    Thanks.
  2. Tanknspank
    Offline

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I didn't even think this was included, though when i tried it, I couldn't replicate it. All I can say is using scriptybox, switch to another music apk, or wiping and reflashing the ROM.

    I had never heard of it.
  3. cowdog
    Offline

    cowdog New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montana
    Hmm. This is interesting.

    I plug in my Klipsch S4i earbuds, and the music player starts automatically.

    I plug in some Sony earbuds, and nothing happens.

    S4i earbuds have fantastic sound. They have volume and pause controls that do not work with the droid but work great with my wife's ipod touch.
  4. volfman
    Offline

    volfman New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My skullcandy earphones don't do this when i plug them in. However, if I push the button on the earphones, it turns on the music player. kinda cool!
  5. Tanknspank
    Offline

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Mine don't >.<
  6. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Original poster, your jack has slack in. When the earbuds are plugged in it is accidentally shorting with something telling the music app you pushed the play button on your earbuds. Been written about quite often.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  7. cowdog
    Offline

    cowdog New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montana
    With the S4i, the only thing that turns on the music player is plugging in. If the volume and play/pause buttons worked, I'd be thrilled. Just to be clear, they don't work, but that's a different issue. If there was a way to get any of the extra S4i features working with the droid, I would vote strongly for the microphone.

    Anyway, same thing happens with the stock app or both of the alternative music apps via scriptybox.
  8. MonkeyTime
    Offline

    MonkeyTime New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    East Troy, WI
    Can you explain what you mean by "slack in"? I have this problem using a cassette adapter in my car. I use Rhapsody very often, but any time I plug in head phones (multiple pairs) or my adapter in my car, the stock player also starts playing. Having two streams of music playing makes for an annoying sound until I can turn one off......
  9. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    I've never had the issue but reading about it they refer to having a loose headphone jack. One person fixed it with a small piece of thick paper stuffed down between the jack and the phone housing. This was after Verizon had refused to replace it under warranty.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  10. boddah
    Offline

    boddah New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  11. cowdog
    Offline

    cowdog New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montana
    Interesting. I hadn't come across that information. I suppose that makes sense. They work fine in all kinds of other devices.

    Thanks. I will try it.
  12. Tanknspank
    Offline

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    That's already an option in the scriptybox. Just type switchapk into the terminal and see what you need to type to switch it.

    Should be:

    su
    switchapk music eliotstocker
  13. cowdog
    Offline

    cowdog New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montana
    Bingo. Fixed. Many thanks!
  14. boddah
    Offline

    boddah New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    right on, no problem :)
  15. dblosmith
    Offline

    dblosmith New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same problem: Go into setting where? in the music player and all the phone? You have to adapt it to the stock music player?

    (n00b)
  16. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    1. take a deep breath
    2. you need a modded music player: in terminal, type

    su
    switchapk music eliotstocker

    This will install the modded player. Then go into settings in the music app, you should find the setting described previously.
  17. nygrik
    Offline

    nygrik New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i first noticed this the other day....i had plugged in the aux cable for my car radio and it did the same thing...nice feature but it also causes songs to skip if i move around the wire to much...also happens with headphones while in my pocket...im pretty sure this is more a issue with a sensitive port for the song changing in my case but who knows
  18. Wetzilla
    Offline

    Wetzilla New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sounds like you have a loose headphone jack. Do you have an original launch droid? I had one with the exact same problem, and verizon replaced it. My replacement was also a launch droid, and has the same problem. But the third one has the perfectly flat keyboard, and the headphone jack is rock solid. Try taking it back to verizon and getting a replacement.
  19. nygrik
    Offline

    nygrik New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    yeah i have a launch one...good call im a little worried they might give me a D2 i read about them doing upgrades even without being asked...i love my droid and even now feel like its superior to everything out there
  20. nygrik
    Offline

    nygrik New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just called verizon and they are sending me a replacement, well see whats up when it gets here they are giving me ten days to decide which one i want to send back (they didnt say that its just how it works out) i can send back either phone free of charge...so right now my current droid can handle everything LV every kernal no problem...if the new one is garbage i guess im stuck with a bad port lol
Search tags for this page
a855 music starts playing when headphones plugged in
,

auto play of music when earpod plug

,

disable automatic music player when plugin earbuds

,
droid nothing happens when i plug in headphones
,
droid stop music autoplay headphones
,
earpods automatically play music
,

earpods automatically plays music

,

galaxy s4 ear phone plug music launch change

,
google play starting automatically when plugging in headset
,
how to fix apple earpods distortion
,
how to stop automatically playing songs by pressing the play
,
how to stop music from playing automatically when earphones
,
note 2 how to use auto play wjen the headphone adapter is pl
,
stop android from starting media player on earphone plugin
,
stop galaxy s4 from playing music when i plug earphones