FIX for Facebook sync issues!

Discussion in 'LithiumMod' started by xfireguru, Jun 4, 2010.

  1. xfireguru

    xfireguru Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm going to get excited for a minute because I think I figured it out.

    Reading on xda-developers someone had commented that Facebook is now referencing the build.prop file to determine whether or not sync should be available to the user.

    I compared the Shiz build.prop against stock to looking for any glaring differences.

    In the stock build.prop you'll find:
    Code:
    [B]ro.product.name=voles[/B]
    ro.product.device=sholes
    ro.product.board=sholes
    
    However, in Shiz you'll find:
    Code:
    [B]ro.product.name=sholes[/B]
    ro.product.device=sholes
    ro.product.board=sholes
    
    Use Root Explorer to edit the build.prop so that the
    Code:
    ro.product.name=[B]sholes[/B]
    reads
    Code:
    ro.product.name=[B]voles[/B]
    Save and reboot.

    Open the FB app, hit menu, settings, scroll the the bottom, and set your sync options.
     
  2. jrummy16

    jrummy16 Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    xfireguru, thanks! I haven't even looked into fixing fb sync yet. Been too busy. So is this confirmed as working?
     
  3. xfireguru

    xfireguru Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    You're welcome. I'll look into the Skype issue next.

    I can confirm it works. I edited the build.prop back to how it was originally (ro.product.name=sholes) and immediately lost the sync capability.
     
  4. villain1998

    villain1998 Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does this work?

    Will this fix the sync with contacts or will this fix the facebook notifications?:yr1:
     
  5. xfireguru

    xfireguru Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    It'll restore the synching with the contacts only.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  6. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    What exactly is this fixing? I haven't even noticed anything different about fb. I have JRummy's remix v0.8 but it still reads =voles, instead of =sholes.

    Edit: NM I'm retarded it was right to begin with.
     
    #6 JCo352, Jun 4, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2010
  7. xfireguru

    xfireguru Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is for people running the shiz. The option to sync facebook contacts with your google contacts was missing due to a typo. Now the contact pictures, status updates, etc. will pair with your google contacts.
     
  8. STIDRIVER

    STIDRIVER Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It worked like a champ... thx!
     
  9. woot505

    woot505 Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do you edit in root explorer, mine needs to changed but I dont know how to edit it. Can you tell me how to do this please.
     
  10. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Long press on the build.prop, and open it with text editor.
     
  11. woot505

    woot505 Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks JCo352, that fixed it!!!! Thank you helping out a NOOB!!....lol
     
  12. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    No problem man.
     
Search tags for this page

facebook fix android

,
facebook sync 2.2
,
what is facebook build 140579