Fission addons - anyone interested?

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Global Roms' started by Iff, Apr 14, 2011.

  1. Iff
    Offline

    Iff New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been using the Fission ROM for my Droid 2 Global ever since it was released - it has always felt like the cleanest, most stable ROM...not to mention it was the only available one for a long time. Luckily, people are working on new ones so we'll hopefully see things pick up here in the D2G community soon.

    Until then, I've been poking around and tweaking things in my copy of Fission. A few of the preinstalled apps in the stock ROM were useful to me, like Windows Media Sync mode, so I added them back. The crackling and popping while playing music was driving me crazy, so I enabled StageFright and fixed the missing libraries so YouTube and camcorder playback still work too. I have also managed to activate 720p video recording. The camera on the D2G seems to be the same one as in the Milestone 2, which supports 720p recording, so I stole some files from that and got it working after a night of tinkering. It's silky smooth at 29fps and produces fairly massive video files with a 10mbit bitrate.

    So I've been thinking, maybe I should figure out how to package up each of these tweaks as update.zip files and release them. I don't really have time to make a whole ROM nor do I want to force my preferences on people by doing that (I like my Dialer buttons to be hot pink with flaming skulls on the sides, so you must too!). I'm just wondering if any of you are still running Fission and whether there'd be any demand for stuff like this. I just blew an entire day and sleepless night rebooting my phone about 80 times while working on this stuff, so I just want to make sure it's not wasted time if I figure out how to release these tweaks in a way that doesn't set anyone's phone on fire. :)
  2. sid_wisc
    Offline

    sid_wisc New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    If it did not set your phone of fire, chances are that it will not do it to mine either... Seems you have worked hard for your stuff so may be you should share... I am ready to be the scapegoat, guinea pig, laboratory mouse whatever you want to call me... I have used Fission in past and kind of liked it to some extent but then I wanted to try Liberty which I am carrying right now... Send me the files and I will go back to Fission for a while... I have to go back to fission anyhow due to a killing theme one of my friend is cooking these days!!!
  3. kickyindahead
    Offline

    kickyindahead New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    hey ... you can count me in too on this if youd like .. im kinda in the same boat as Sid... wouldnt be surprised if it was the same friend as well...
  4. chrisl20
    Offline

    chrisl20 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    wichita, ks
    Hey, im running fission right now, send me a link and ill test-erosa everything out...im getting rdy to flash the FENOM alpha rom in a minute, see what its all about, im going to start making a black and red theme here within the next day or two, as soon as I get a solid rom to go with. So...if you can make me like fission more....well, im down with that :D
  5. clouse2013
    Offline

    clouse2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Im on Fission again too. If you wanna send some stuff out i would be more than glad to test or whatever as other people have. Thanks for all your work by the way.
  6. havocdante
    Offline

    havocdante New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i would love to know how you put your droid 2 global to record 720p if you may be so kind and explain me the process please
  7. Iff
    Offline

    Iff New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Turns out 720p recording is even simpler than I thought. Assuming you're using Motorola's camera app and not the stock one, all you have to do is open /system/build.prop and find this line near the bottom:
    Code:
    ro.media.capture.maxres=5m
    Change it to
    Code:
    ro.media.capture.maxres=8m
    Then reboot your phone. After that, go to Settings -> Applications -> Manage Applications, find the Camera app in the All tab, force stop it if it's running and Clear Data.

    After that, 720p should show up as the default recording quality for videos in the Camera/Camcorder app.


    Is Liberty stable on the D2G now? Last I heard there were still some sensor issues, have those been resolved?
  8. havocdante
    Offline

    havocdante New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wow that system file has alot of command lines that caught my attention, well umm it worked but when i try to record it exit me out :(
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2011
  9. sid_wisc
    Offline

    sid_wisc New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Yes, It has been fairly stable for me for the last three weeks I have been using it... some issues here and there which i think not major... sensors seem to be working fairly well...No problems so far other than some random reboots when i changed to a theme that went away when i went to a different one.... When can i expect to hear from you about getting your tweek of Fission??? Waitin for it!!!!!!!!
  10. helizus
    Offline

    helizus New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Iff, I have HD Ready mode on Stock & Liberty v2.0.1 now dancedroid
  11. lawless21
    Offline

    lawless21 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Guinea pig!

    I am running Fission right now and would love to give some new tweaks a try!
  12. havocdante
    Offline

    havocdante New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Can you tell me how you got your HD to work becuase mines crashes meaning when i try to record on 720p it closes the application and when i try to take a picture it looks all messed up :(
  13. helizus
    Offline

    helizus New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dont use blur camera, try the alternate ones.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  14. havocdante
    Offline

    havocdante New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ohhh ok so don't use the camera that comes from stock mmmm, which ones do you recommend to use??? im kinda new at this.......
  15. helizus
    Offline

    helizus New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here is build-in camera of Liberty v2.0.1, hope it's work for you.
  16. keolawills
    Offline

    keolawills New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Tahoe, CA
    I tried installing the .apk for the liberty camera and no luck. It wont install. Advice?

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  17. keolawills
    Offline

    keolawills New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Tahoe, CA
    So where do I get this motorola camera app. I've installed a different camera app off the market and images are still messed up. Id really like to get this working. I've installed the aosp pack off frm and still no luck.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  18. havocdante
    Offline

    havocdante New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ive tried everything nothing works can someone please clarify or make a guide : (, the camera wont work it trows pictures bad, and the video doesnt even record 720 it crashes or it dont record :S
  19. helizus
    Offline

    helizus New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry, it not work on stock but I have HD video and good image on my Liberty v2.0.1 even without touch to build.prop file. Anyone who are running Liberty can check by yourself.
  20. havocdante
    Offline

    havocdante New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    for me liberty 2.0.1 theres things that i dont like, the keyboard wont lite up or the touch like home bottons wont lite up, and the keyboard is changed like the numbers i really dont like that, anyways i had liberty and the HD still did not work the image was bad and the video crashed, so i wanna know what exactly they did to make it work!! :"(