First Timer with Cyanogen, and I need some questions answered

Discussion in 'Koush' started by Clownassasin, Apr 18, 2010.

  1. Clownassasin
    Offline

    Clownassasin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I'm sure im not the first one to say im switching over from UD but I need help here

    1. Okay, so I have ROM Manager, I don't need the premium version to do this right?
    2. I've heard some problems with themes or something on 5.0.6.1 or something like that, can you guys care to explain?
    3.How will themes work on this ROM?
    4. Is there anything you guys suggest I should do before downloading and installing Cyanogen?

    Thanks a lot for your help guys, this means a lot to me
  2. verian
    Offline

    verian Guest

    Make sure to wipe everything clean during install and use the google apps and on it's crucial. I've been slamming themes over 5.0.6.1 from rom manager with no problems at all. It's really nice to have a solid base flashed and a perfect phone, and then start picking themes. As apposed to just flashing a ported version thats allready themed. You will have an extra little bit of control after you make the change. I honestly think I've changed themes 3 times today. started with red rum then tried the latest jrummy and now have buuf complete rom for 5.0.6.1
  3. ClaudioKilgannon
    Offline

    ClaudioKilgannon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Plus be careful with some roms and make sure you nandroid before ANYTHING. Last night a rom caused my phone to stop reading my SD so I went back and eventually had to un then re root. But cynanogen is the best I've used so far, so good luck.
  4. bL33d
    Offline

    bL33d New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    illinois
    premium is for downloading themes i believe.... Not sure as i bought rom manager as soon as it came out to support koush for his hard work.

    Some themes will revert apk's to older versions and not 5.6.0.1, glasseque or whatever its called is working on 5.0.6.1 and so is bgill's themes all of which rock imo.
  5. Clownassasin
    Offline

    Clownassasin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @ Verian

    Thanks for the reply but im having a hard time figuring out what you mean by saying "use the google apps and on it's crucial", and how would I be able to load my themes onto my droid( wait I just saw, you need the premium version to get them through Rom Manager Right?) and also I see people switching over to 5.0.5.7, why's that?
  6. hookerdj
    Offline

    hookerdj New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    pittsburgh
    whem n you go to download the cyanogen a box comes up that says google just make sure you click it if you dont you wont have market apps or anything but if you already made that mistake we can link you with the app
  7. Chatchie
    Offline

    Chatchie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    be sure to check off google apps when you install, that way when you sign in all your stuff from the market and what not will be there.
  8. bL33d
    Offline

    bL33d New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    illinois
    Probably for themes that are 5057 only themes some people will wait till there themes are ready for latest build before they use it daily.

    when u install cyanogen it does not include google apps that are included in stock/themed roms u need to install them separate it takes about 10 seconds.
  9. hookerdj
    Offline

    hookerdj New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    pittsburgh
    oh another thing installing cyanogen when you wipe cache and data let the market sync everything up sometimes it takes a little while but dont rush in there let it sync up your apks and let them download themselves dont rush around i dont think anyone elses roms do this so you will like this option
  10. Clownassasin
    Offline

    Clownassasin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank You Guys SOOOOOOOO much for helping me out, im currently backing up my apps with TB and then Im going to attempt to install this work of art
  11. gth5003
    Offline

    gth5003 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    I am new to cyanogen as well....just installed today and I noticed me LED notification doesnt work....I know it is new that when the screen is on the LED wont blink but even with the screen off I don't get LED notifications for anything?

    Did I do anything wrong? I was on another ROM before and I wiped before I installed via ROM Manager. Thanks
  12. ink
    Offline

    ink New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    No notifications work for anything? Did you check the settings just to make sure everything was setup correctly? I am using 5.0.6.1 and notifications work fine. Actually while I was reading your post I received a txt and the notification light was still blinking with the screen turned on.
  13. gth5003
    Offline

    gth5003 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    I am sure I have the settings correct so I am truthfully lost here why it isn't working for me. I don't want to have to switch because of this so I may try wiping again and installing again.

    If I do a backup and restore just my data would that defeat the purpose of wiping and reinstalling?
  14. ink
    Offline

    ink New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    If you're going to do a wipe and a reinstall I would see if the notification light is working before you restore anything. At least that way you know whether it works from a base install. If it does then start restoring stuff.
  15. wuyanks
    Offline

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    on 5.0.6.1, stock notifications work as intended... haven't tried to mess with the notif. settings though, or used an app to alter them (e.g. Missed Call)
  16. gth5003
    Offline

    gth5003 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    It seems I was not fully understanding the settings......in the messaging application I had the correct notification settings but in the Menu --> Settings --> Sound & Display --> Trackball Settings were not correctly configured. Once I selected "Pulse notification light" it seems to be working.

    Minor Rant:
    The wording is misleading though....why would a notification under "Trackball Settings" override the notification in the messaging app and all other settings (for missed call or gmail alert)? The explanation under "Pulse notification light" reads this option will "Pulse trackball light repeatedly for new notifications"!!!!!! It seems quite logical any settings under "Trackball Settings" would affect devices with a trackball and the Droid doesn't have one sooo?!?!??!?!?!?!?!
  17. ThisIsMyName
    Offline

    ThisIsMyName New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Internets
    This ROM is based on a Nexus 1 ROM. The Nexus 1 has a trackball, as do many Android phones, so in the future you now know that anything labeled "trackball" may be related to the notification light.

    Since this is a port to the Droid though, it would be cool if Koush could change that description.
Search tags for this page

cyanogen downloads choose catalog

,

cyanogenmod 11 razr pulse notification light

,

cyanogenmod 7. 2.0 notification led

,

what is cyanogenmod catalog