First time rooting!?! problem?

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by barski, Oct 5, 2010.

  1. barski

    barski Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So i stepped up and decided that im going to root my droid x. I used a tutorial from droid life. Its a one click method. Well anyways i set it up they way it says, clicked doroot then i got a message saying
    adb connection we be reset. restart adb server on desktop and re-login
    i didn't do anything because i didn't know what to do
    then my droid x restarted, now its on the red eye and has been there for a couple on minutes now.

    What should i do?
     
  2. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    take out the battery and let it sit for a few min

    also, restart ur computer to see if that fixes the adb problem
     
  3. barski

    barski Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    idk what happened but my phone just shut down from when it was on the red eye. I restarted it and tried it again. NOW IM ROOTED!!!

    mods feel free to remove
     
  4. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    haha glad u got it working. :)
     
  5. barski

    barski Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    me to....i was so relieved to watch it boot up again.dancedroid already have wireless tether.:icon_ banana:
     
  6. barski

    barski Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    okay i got one question. Do i have to use Root Explorer or am i missing something? Im trying to use Android Mate and Astro to rename some apps i dont use, but always get failed to rename or move.
     
  7. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    yes, root explorer. only file explorer (that i know of) that has R/W permissions and u need that to rename apps.
     
  8. barski

    barski Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks, i got my apk's renamed. Now im looking to install some themes or possibly some roms. I have the Droid X bootstrap and Rom Manager. I guess what im try to do is like make an image of my phone, like we do with computers, just in case i screw it up.

    I have it backed up with Titanium backup and MyBackup Pro. I just dont want to screw it up and have to reflash it back to 2.2 stock with nothing on it and unrooted.
     
  9. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    use clockwork to make the backups (can be found in the free version of rom manager)
     
  10. barski

    barski Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just tried it and just reboots my phone and there is no backups in the "manage and Restore Backups" area.

    I never applied the Droid X bootstrap before trying the backup. Should i apply the bootstrap then do back up?
     
    #10 barski, Oct 6, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2010
  11. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,870
    Likes Received:
    608
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +677
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P
    Yes go into bootstrap and hit the bootstrap recovery button it will say successful (hopefully). Then go into rom manager and do a backup current rom and name it something and let it do its thing.
     
  12. barski

    barski Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    okay i managed to make a back up through clockwork. I tried a reboot into recovery (with pressing the power and home key)(not through droid x bootstrap), just because i was curious, and was taken back into the normal android recovery.

    I was kinda expecting the clockwork recovery with the option to restore the last back up i made, but i was wrong.

    Is that the way its supposed to work? if i mess my DX up how can i restore it from my backup? Say it wouldn't boot but i could get into recovery.

    Thanks
     
    #12 barski, Oct 7, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2010